Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I lost my 100% whole wheat pancake recipe and tried this one. What a wonderful surprise. My son and husband sucked them up and I had to make another batch. I always double it now and use a 1/3 cup batter per pancake. My alterations: All organic ingredients, 3 tablespoons sugar instead of 2, and brown sugar instead of the substitute. Ive made them several times and the recipe proportions are great. As is, you will have a bouncy, very thick pancake. Sometimes the family wants thin pancakes and I add 1/4 cup milk (for base recipe- double this for a double recipe). My recommendation is to use fresh ground flour! Use soft wheat berries. We love this recipe better than my old one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Great recipe. Just add a bit more milk (or soy milk) and you're good to go! I make all the dry stuff in large, large batches, store, and then when ready, measure out the right amount of "mix" and add the wet. This way, we're all ready in the mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I use this recipe almost every weekend! It is so versatile that I can make different kinds with whatever I have on hand. I've used ripe bananas, blueberries, blackberries, and even used just cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves/vanilla when I didn't have any fruit. You can sub some or all while flour if you are running low or have picky eaters. I even use vanilla soy milk to add that hint of vanilla and sweetness. I use Splenda instead of packet sweeteners and find that 1/4c of Splenda does the trick. These are so good you can eat them without any syrup! I usually make a double batch and put the extras in the fridge or freezer. Just pop in micro or toaster and you are good to go! You don't even have to worry about overly juicy fruit, like if you use frozen, because I usually end up using more than the cup of milk and the juice makes up the difference. I absolutely love this recipe and it is SO easy to mix, match, change, add and still I have yet to have a bad batch! I even keep them warm in the oven while cooking other items and they still turn out great! Top with some sugar free syrup and it is the best "healthy" breakfast that the kids won't even notice there's no added sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These were excellent. We used cane sugar instead of artificial, and 2 eggs instead of one. We also added a couple tablespoons of wheat germ and a little flax seed meal for some added nutrition. Even my picky 4-year-old loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Soooo good!! I did add 1/2 t of cinnamon and vanillaand doubled the blueberries (my family really love them). I was also a little leary of all the whole wheat , so I used 1/2c of white and 3/4c of whole wheat,and I did need to add about 2 T more of milk, butthese pancakes are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I'm sorry but i did not like these and am wondering what I did wrong because there where so mnay good reviews. I love whole wheat flour more than white too but these had a weird bitter taste to them and all my baking supplies are newer and have been used before so I dont think that is the problem. m The only i did differently was rubbed oil on the pan ibnstead of using spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyFoodLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
since it's a little dry, adding blueberries, chocolate chips, or mashed bananas makes it so moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
It is a tiny bit dry, but worth 5 stars b/c it is afterall a whole wheat pancakes and the kids can't even tell. I mashed up strawberries to the mixture and the kids and hubby managed to finished 8 servings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I thought these were pretty good. I didn't have blueberries so instead I made them "stuffed". I sliced each pancake almost in half and put in a dollop of homemade fat free raspberry lebneh mixed with a small bit of low fat sour cream. EXCELLENT!! I am thinking these could probably be made stuffing with with vegetables if the sweetner isn't added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
They were great! Subbed 8th Continent Vanilla soy milk because of DD's milk allergy and used 2TBSP sugar instead of artificial sweetener. Made the kid's without blueberries(weird ones, they don't like blueberry pancakes, just plain!) and they still were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer McGroarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States