Whole Wheat Blueberry Beet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Awesome! I did replace the white sugar with ¾ cups of agave nectar. I also had to cut ¼ cup off all wet ingredients to make up for the substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I used coconut oil instead of canola, and 1/2 cup of Xylitol and 1/4 tsp stevia powder for the sugar. Substituted 1 1/2 cups of oat bran for the oats and mixed it with the applesauce to absorb some of the moisture. Added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup chopped walnuts and these came out wonderful and look great. Beets are one of the most healthful vegetables because of their high mineral content--even better than carrots. THANK YOU for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I'm reviewing this because it was the inspiration for the way I made these moist, delicious muffins! I used 1 1/4 cup sorghum flour and 1 1/4 cup rye flour instead of the wheat flour, I added an extra cup of oatmeal, omitted the soda and salt, and changed the sugar to honey. Next time, I will cut amount of honey to 1/2 cup because they were very sweet! I loved having beets in these muffins, that is a fantastic idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Sssshhhh.... I didn't tell my family about the beets and they LOVED these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
These were delicious and the beets were well disguised (as I have kiddos who "don't like" beets yet scarfed these muffins down)! I did have to make some changes. I used King Arthur Gluten Free Flour mix (the best tasting GF in my opinion ) , 2 tsp Xanthum Gum, 2 1/2 TBS King Arthur Gluten Free Cake Enhanser (increases shelf life & makes things lighter/moister) and Ener G brand Egg Replacer. I also used 1 cup Agave light colored sweetener and reduced the water by 1/4 cup per others' comments. The results were very moist and the color was just "fun" for my boys to make! I have some extra shredded beats in my freezer and will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Flavourful and moist - absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I don't care for beets much, but found some in my cropshare box, so thought I try something sweet with them. These muffins were fairly good for health muffins. I could taste the beet flavor in them, but I think the beets I used were very "earthy" to begin with. The blueberries were a must for sweetness, I also added more cinnamon and used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all-purpose for a more tender crumb. I used palm oil also. I think if you put a bit more berries or some nuts in it, it would be even better. I just don't care for the beet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I accidentally put regular bread flour in this, but maybe that was why everyone like so well. anyway I was afraid since I used diced beets that they would not be liked. But everyone ate them well. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I was looking for a somewhat healthy muffin for my family and happened to have all the ingredients for this one. For texture, I only put in 2 cups of whole wheat flour & substituted 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour. I actually used frozen blueberries, and it turned out just fine. I also used canned beets & shredding was cumbersome. I just threw the canned beets into a quick chopper (it turned out as more of a chunky puree). This turned out just perfectly and gave the entire muffine a nice, red coloring. Love this recipe!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
A fantastic way to get your kids to eat beets! I shy away from using oil and refined sugar in my baking when I can so I used 1/2C of honey instead of the canola oil & white sugar - worked out great! I took them to the daycare my son goes to and all the kids ate (and loved!) them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States