Whole Wheat Blueberry Beet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I was looking for a somewhat healthy muffin for my family and happened to have all the ingredients for this one. For texture, I only put in 2 cups of whole wheat flour & substituted 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour. I actually used frozen blueberries, and it turned out just fine. I also used canned beets & shredding was cumbersome. I just threw the canned beets into a quick chopper (it turned out as more of a chunky puree). This turned out just perfectly and gave the entire muffine a nice, red coloring. Love this recipe!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Flavourful and moist - absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
January 9, 2012: Thank you Blue Clements. These were delicious. I have to admit, I was skeptical as I was grating beets and mixing the ingredients. I kept thinking, "this seems too healthy to be good." I didn't have fresh blueberries, so I used defrosted blueberries and saved the juice as part of the 1/2 c of water. I also used whole wheat pastry flour to make it a little lighter. These are so light, fluffy, have a gorgeous golden color and a slightly sweet taste. No one was able to tell that there were shredded raw beets in the batter. These are definitely a hit with the family, including my 23-month old toddlers. Thank you for creating (and sharing) a healthy and delicious blueberry muffin recipe. UPDATE (9 months later): We love these so much that we make them at least once every other month. We ran out of whole wheat pastry flour, we used whole wheat flour and it was still light and delicious. We just made these with vanilla Greek yogurt instead of oil, still very moist. UPDATE December 11, 2012- Almost a year later and still a favorite. We sometimes substitute two very ripe bananas for half the applesauce. We continue to use Vanilla Greek Yogurt instead of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I'm reviewing this because it was the inspiration for the way I made these moist, delicious muffins! I used 1 1/4 cup sorghum flour and 1 1/4 cup rye flour instead of the wheat flour, I added an extra cup of oatmeal, omitted the soda and salt, and changed the sugar to honey. Next time, I will cut amount of honey to 1/2 cup because they were very sweet! I loved having beets in these muffins, that is a fantastic idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I accidentally put regular bread flour in this, but maybe that was why everyone like so well. anyway I was afraid since I used diced beets that they would not be liked. But everyone ate them well. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Awesome! I did replace the white sugar with ¾ cups of agave nectar. I also had to cut ¼ cup off all wet ingredients to make up for the substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I used coconut oil instead of canola, and 1/2 cup of Xylitol and 1/4 tsp stevia powder for the sugar. Substituted 1 1/2 cups of oat bran for the oats and mixed it with the applesauce to absorb some of the moisture. Added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 cup chopped walnuts and these came out wonderful and look great. Beets are one of the most healthful vegetables because of their high mineral content--even better than carrots. THANK YOU for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Sssshhhh.... I didn't tell my family about the beets and they LOVED these muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
These were delicious and the beets were well disguised (as I have kiddos who "don't like" beets yet scarfed these muffins down)! I did have to make some changes. I used King Arthur Gluten Free Flour mix (the best tasting GF in my opinion ) , 2 tsp Xanthum Gum, 2 1/2 TBS King Arthur Gluten Free Cake Enhanser (increases shelf life & makes things lighter/moister) and Ener G brand Egg Replacer. I also used 1 cup Agave light colored sweetener and reduced the water by 1/4 cup per others' comments. The results were very moist and the color was just "fun" for my boys to make! I have some extra shredded beats in my freezer and will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
A fantastic way to get your kids to eat beets! I shy away from using oil and refined sugar in my baking when I can so I used 1/2C of honey instead of the canola oil & white sugar - worked out great! I took them to the daycare my son goes to and all the kids ate (and loved!) them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States