Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made this exact with the exception of brushing a little butter on the top. I think its a good base recipe. It came out pretty and the texture is good. I do taste the bitterness of the baking powder though. I would do the same and reduce the baking powder to 1 tablespoon and I think I would also add a little honey to the recipe. I will be trying this again with some variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Our oven cooks things much faster than any recipe says, so we cooked it for about 40 minute and got a lovely, moist loaf that went fantastically well with our butternut squash soup. We'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and the bread is very yummy, but tastes quite strongly of the beer. It's something nice for a change, especially given how super easy the recipe is, but I don't know that I would make it regularly. Also, next time I think I will use some oatmeal on top, because the texture on top of the bread is quite unattractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Delicious bread with great texture. I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. and added 2 T. melted butter over the top of the batter before baking. I used a Belgian Wheat ale and next time plan to use a hard cider flavored with apple and ginger. I sliced the whole loaf and put it into my freezer. When I want a special morning treat with breakfast, I remove one slice at a time and pop it into my toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Emerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Wow! Just took this out of the oven and tested it...awesome! I have never even eaten beer bread before much less made it, but I love it! So simple. Used Coors original beer bc that's what kind were I to drinking right now. I don't taste beer just bread goodness. The only modification I made was 2 cups bread flour and only 1 cup of whole wheat but pretty much the same. And also poured half stick of melted butter over it before cooking too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Followed others advice and cut back on the salt - everyone raves about it - great recipe - thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I had some Sam Adam's Cherry Chocolate Bock beer which nobody would drink, so I used it in this recipe. The only change I made was to use all white flour. I thought the wheat flour may make the flavor heavy. It was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this today and it was a hit! I used Sprite Zero instead of beer and also spread 3 TBSP of melted butter on dough before baking. It's so easy and very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I used New Castles' Werewolf, added melted butter to the top when in the loaf pan, and made it in 6 smaller loaves that baked about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Easy and very good. I did reduce salt to 1 teaspoon which was perfect. Will make again and again...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States