Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was my first time ever eating or baking beer bread and all I can say is HOLY COW. This is amazing. Moist, rich and flavorful. I stuck to the recipe except for pouring melted butter over the dough before baking, as others had recommended. I am printing this out and putting it in my binder of favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I added a handful of shredded cheese, some dill and two tablespoons of butter on top. It was delicious and a nice change from my normal bread machine breads, but maybe I just prefer yeast breads in general. My husband loved it with chicken salad. Used a bottle of Irish Red leftover from a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is a good, hearty bread and we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
very easy to make and nice looking bread. I did cut back on the amount of salt because last time it was bit too salty for me. I added a bottle of guiness beer. This turned to batter a dark color. The dough was a bit sticky and I put it in a large loaf pan. After reading other reviewers suggestions I decided to add 1/4 cup of melted butter. I let it sit for a few minutes before putting it into the oven to bake. The bread rose nicely and it had a nice brown color to it. The bread was slightly crunchy on top and soft on the inside. It definitely has a nice flavor. I put a little butter on it while it was still warm. I like this beer bread recipe over others I have tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I followed directions exactly. The bread turned out beautifully. Took about 50 min to bake. Tasted wonderful. Next time I might try topping with butter, brown sugar, and/or oats to get an interesting crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Love, love, love this bread! I used Leinenkugel Honey Weiss for the beer and OMGoodness, this was divine. Also, I melted about 1/4 C butter and poured over the top when it came out of the oven. Can't wait for breakfast in the morning when I will toast this and eat it with sausage. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
not sure if my ingredients were to old, or what......I really like the Tastefully simple Beer Bread.....so maybe I'll try making this again in the future, since I always seem to have most of these ingredients on hand.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
For so few ingredients it came out wonderfully. I used a bottle of Widmer unfiltered wheat hefeweizen and it complimented the brown sugar perfectly. I only had 2 1/2 cups of flour and so added some oatmeal, which caused the bread to not rise quite as much as I'd hoped, but it was delightfully light, moist and was absolutely DELICIOUS toasted a few days later. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Fantastic bread! Dense, moist, flavorful and slightly crunch on top. I did add about 3/4 cups of cheese, but did not change anything else. The amount of salt was just fine for us. I really love how the brown sugar gives it that hint of sweetness. I was looking for a way to use up our "non-alcoholic" Kaliber beer and this was just perfect. I think I'll make two more loaves and take them to my parents for Easter brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this bread. It's very dense, but that is to be expected without yeast and using whole wheat flour. It has great flavor. I used a large individual can of Heineken, which worked out perfectly to make two loaves. I baked them at the same time and they were done in about 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States