Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The texture of the bread was great!! I baked in it a cast iron skillet so it would bake faster (didn't allow enough time for the 50-60 minutes). I do agree with several other reviews that the recipe "as is" is too salty. But, I made it with hard cider, and the mild apple flavor came through in the bread! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I love this bread and have made it several times. The only change I have made is using only half of the brown sugar and adding in some honey to sweeten it as well. I always receive plenty of compliments when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is great - quick, easy, and tasty. We always have it with chili. It also makes great toast! My 3yo and 1yo like to eat it, too. I've had the best luck using a JW Dundee's Honey Brown Lager, but try it with different types of beer! I usually do a little less brown sugar than it calls for, but that is just our personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I love this recipe! It is so easy, and so delicious! I usually use all whole wheat flour, and it is always fluffy and tasty. Make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
My mom used to make beer bread from a box. This recipe was just as easy and tastes amazing too. Tastefully Simple better watch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was not a hit in our house, I thought maybe it was because I don't like beer, but I really don't know my husband is the only one who ate it and thought it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Fabulously tasty and so easy to make. Didn't change a thing. Used Budweiser beer and cooked for 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was a really easy recipe to make. I used a honey brown lager for one loaf and a Sam Smith oatmeal stout for the other loaf. I preferred the Honey lager. It did turn out dry (user error), so I would watch what type of pan you use and the time that you cooked it. I used a glass pan and cooked it for 50 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goonis311

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was great! I used Blue Moon and added the butter to the top (probably will use 1-2T instead of 1/4C next time). Its an easy recipe that is delish, it would be great with any meal or snacks and it can be easily adapted. We'll be trying it with some diced apples and cinnamon as well. It is fantastic as written so go preheat your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I was craving fresh bread, and we are out of yeast. This was one of the first recipes I found, so I gave it a whirl! It was extremely easy and came out pretty tasty! I used a bottle of Leinenkugel Oktoberfest. I also went by other reviewers suggestion, and poured some melted butter on top, did it the last 10 minutes of baking. My mother, shockingly, didn't like it, and said it didn't taste like bread.. Saying it was probably the wheat flour.. Looks like I'll be eating a good amount of bread this week! I would love to make this again with a different beer every week or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States