Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This bread would have been much better if it wasn't so salty. I read one review that suggested reducing the salt, so I only put in 1 tsp instead of 1 1/2. Sadly, this was still too much. The texture is nice and the loaf baked beautifully, so I will make this bread again with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This tastes amazing! So easy and quick to prepare and bake! The whole house smells fantastic! Used a dark ale and it complimented the brown sugar perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Very good and very easy...it took about 5 minutes to put together and that was with a baby strapped to the front of me :) If I make it again I think I will cut back just slightly on the brown sugar because I thought it was on the slightly sweet side, and top with melted butter as others mentioned because the top was just a bit dry. I used a Lienie's Red, which gave it a nice flavor. Big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made this using Shiner Bock beer, exactly as the recipe recommends. I may try buttering the top next time, as others have suggested, but only for color. It came together VERY quickly, and I couldn't imagine it being any simpler to make! This bread is mildly sweet, and goes wonderfully with butter, margarine, or honey butter. This will be my go-to recipe for beer bread from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Super-delicious. Worked just fine in an 8 x 4 loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
What a great loaf,I added a bit of Basil to it to give sum more kick turned out really well,The brown sugar gives a nice sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This bread was easy and tasted wonderful! My family polished off the loaf in 2 days! It was very good toasted as well as straight out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is a definite winner and so easy, sticky, but easy/quick to make. I followed other reviewer's advice & used an ale (fat weasel), added 1-cup freshly grated cheddar, 2-tsp dill weed, 1 egg (white only) mixed all by hand. then drizzled 1 Tbsp butter on top. baked in convection oven & it was done a few minutes early. It rose perfectly with such a nice & crunchy texture outside & so soft inside. fantastic robust flavor. was a terrific addition to our pasta/meatball dinner tonight. Thank you for sharing this recipe, definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Great bread! Served it for company. Don't expect the same consistency as a yeast bread that's risen...this is denser but still very good with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
excellent!! i used 3C of WW pastry flour instead of the two flours - came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States