Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Michele Knight
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I use this recipe exclusively, but change the flavor by using oat flour or buckwheat flour. All work equally well and all are equally tasty. Of course, the flavor is also changed by using different kinds of beer or ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ritaauton
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I modified this slightly and we love it! I decreased the white flour (also I used bead flour) to 1 cup. I added 1/2 cup of rye flour and a heaping tsp of caraway seed. The modification yielded a slight rye flavor-more of a multigrain flavor, actually. Nice crust with moist inside . The loaf was about 3.5 inches tall at the middle of the loaf. Looking forward to using this as a dipping bread with a bowl of homemade soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
OMG! I have made many breads, and this is the fastest, easiest and tastiest!...Even faster to make than a breadmaker recipe. I only made minor changes: -I added 1 Tblsp. of Molasses. -Used 1/2 tsp. salt -melted 3 Tblsp. of unsalted butter and poured over, as suggested by others. -Used Kokanee Gold Amber lager (left overs from a party.) ...I can't wait to try this with specialty/seasonal craft beers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
As with other new recipes, I try to decide what I will do differently the next time. The bread looks beautiful and has the crusty top as promised because I poured butter on top. I also love the texture. However, next time I will dilute the beer with water, 8 oz. beer, 4 oz. water, to reduce the "beer-y" after-taste and also halve the brown sugar from one third cup to one sixth. I thought it was too sweet for bread. One reviewer thought it was too salty and I too sweet! Just goes to show how tastes vary. I will definitely make this again this winter when we have homemade soup. I did enjoy a small chunk this morning, toasted with jelly. I am keeping it in the fridge in plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I used Killians Red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good. I used "Honey Brown" for the beer and added about two tablespoons honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This bread was so easy, and so delicious! Nearly as good as those expensive boxed beer bread mixes. I also added a little butter on top as it was baking as was suggested on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This had a strange taste and was too sweet AND too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
simply heaven! Amazing bread, made it with butter as recommended by other reviewers. super easy and absolutely delicious ! Added dried herbs to butter and it gave it a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States