Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
As an avid cook and baker who has spent way too much time looking for a good beer bread recipe, I found this beer bread to be the best of what I have made from several different recipes in the past. It was moist, but not too moist. It was tender and flavorful with a nice outside crust layer. I am not a drinker; however, I used Budweiser beer as it is the only beer I will use to cook with; what a rich and wonderful match with the wheat flour, and so easy to prepare. I did mix the recipe in my Kitchenaid stand mixer; its appearance was simply gorgeous. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This bread is delicious. I made a few changes to the original recipe. I added 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese to the batter. I also took another persons advice and melted butter to pour over top of bread before baking. I added a little salt, pepper and some Mrs. Dash Garlic and herb seasoning in the butter before I poured it on the bread. Next time I may add the Mrs. Dash right in the batter. There isn't any salt in it so you could probably use as little or as much as you'd like. I would make this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Very attractive, rustic looking bread that betrays the minimal effort that went into it. Surprisingly delicious, and I'm looking forward to making it again with variations--dill and a handful of shredded Cheddar cheese, or maybe herbs or Italian seasoning. It was a tasty acccompaniment to the Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup. However, both my friend and I thought it was a little on the salty side, so I think next time I'll reduce the salt to 1 tsp., and use 1/4 cup of UNsalted melted butter over the top rather than salted. All in all, a lovely bread I'll be happy to make again, and not just because it's easy and produces a loaf of bread in under an hour. Great recipe, and a pleasant surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
Great recipe! I didn't alter a thing other than adding a few tablespoons of melted butter on top before baking as others suggested. I used a bottle of ale (Portland Ale) with great results. I am thinking of packaging the dry mix, putting it in a loaf pan w/ a bottle of beer and giving as christmas gifts this year. Would make a great hostess gift, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
there is nothing i can add to the other reviews except to say that after the first loaf came out and cooled, cut off a slice and as soon as i get off this thing i'm mixing up another loaf so there will be some left for the fish sandwiches that i intended it to accompany in the first place. this one needs six stars B.L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Very easy, very good. I added 1/4 of melted butter on top of the batter before baking (a trick I picked up from another beer bread recipe). You can add up to 1/2 a cup if you like, but use real butter! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I cannot believe this is a quick bread. Smell while baking is incredible, texture is awesome, and end result is super tasty. All I had was Heineken light, but I can't wait to make this with a Guinness. Mmm. Did add the melted butter, since almost every other reviewer did; probly about 1/4 cup. UPDATE: Made this again, this time a half batch. A half batch is a little too much for my mini loaf pan! Took about 40 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Excellent! I used Budweiser brought to room temperature. I added 1 cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Mixed everything in my KitchenAid mixer; it was sticky but did well. I poured 1/2 cup of melted, salted butter over the top prior to baking. Baked for 55 minutes. This turned out beautifully with a chewy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This was very good and very easy. Adding chopped sun dried tomatoes and greek olives would be a nice addition to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
I was really surprised to see no one had rated this wonderful bread! I added an egg. It has great flavor! I would definitely make it again. Husband and son thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States