Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was really good bread- easy to make too! I love the addition of the whole wheat flour. This was a little dry on the first day, but nothing a little butter could fix! Second day was nice and moist. I did sub garlic salt for the regular salt and it gave a nice hint of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This bread is excellent, just as written. I think the reason there was a small percentage of people who didn't like it is that those are the same people who don't like whole wheat bread, period. It is something that one has to get used to if you grew up with white store bought super soft and sweet mush bread. This is so much better for you. I like to grind my own wheat (I get teased) so my whole wheat flour is very fresh. I like the idea of premixing this and wrapping up with a beer for Christmas gifts. What a great idea, I am definitely going to do that this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bread maker baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
For years I've been buying a home party beer bread, but always hated the outrageous price. NO MORE!! This one blows theirs away! I followed the recipe exactly as written and used a Corona beer. MMMMM! I'll definitely be making this again soon! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
It was very dry and crumbly, and not in a good way. Texture was off somehow. It didn't do for us, thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I really like this recipe, it's so easy for such good results. But I took some of the advice offered by other user: a cup of cheese mixed in with the bread (I didn't take anything out, the first time I made it it seemed a little wet), two tablespoons butter on top (I added a little salt) as well as a coating of cheddar cheese on top of the bread with about twenty minutes to cook (I also added another two tablespoons of butter). It was delicious, and the crust I added (simply cheddar cheese, butter, salt) was perhaps my favorite part. Great recipe, and easy to tweak to the way you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as stated. The only thing I will do different next time is double the recipe. My family of six wanted more. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Love this with spinach dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This looked and smelled great, but overall it dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My favorite beer to make with this bread is Stella. Granted, I've only attempted to make it with Stella, and Shock Top. I add 1 tsp of baking soda to keep it fluffy, and a bit of pepper for fragrance. It makes some bomb dinner rolls. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nefariousnug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Perfect every time! I recommend checking the loaf partway through cooking, because mine was done a bit sooner than the recipe said. It's a perfect, hearty bread to have accompany soups and salads. I'm a big fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States