Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Best beer bread I've ever made. Not dry or chewy. I added nuts to the recipe and salted the top. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fred Boyles
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is the first loaf of bread that I made with my new (to me) wheat mill. I was looking for a recipe that I had all the ingredients for and this one fit the bill. I used Abita Mardi Gras Bock. Haven't tasted yet but it smells wonderful. I'll try to update once we cut into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Boyles

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Absolutely fabulous!! I used 3 cups of whole wheat flour instead of half-and-half and it was delicious. Absolutely make this recipe -- easy, unusual and completely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivybaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Loved this recipe! Very easy and the bread turned out very flavorful. I used Guinness Extra Stout and per other reviews topped my bread with 1/4 cup of melted butter before placing it in the oven. It baked for 50 minutes at 350 in a dark loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Easy recipe! We used our home-brewed nut brown ale in ours. Threw it all in our breadmaker on cake cycle and it came out great. Hubs says its a bit bitter, but thats the beer. It would turn out differently with the type of beer you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
awesome. Made this like 5 times now, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe using Sam Adams Boston Lager and poured a little melted butter over the top as others suggested. I used splenda brown sugar and used a little less than the 1/3 cup the recipe called for. It still was good but a little sweet for a dinner bread. However, it was excellent toasted the next morning and 2 mornings later it is still good. Definitely would make again using a pumpkin or apple ale and the full amount of brown sugar substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made this exact with the exception of brushing a little butter on the top. I think its a good base recipe. It came out pretty and the texture is good. I do taste the bitterness of the baking powder though. I would do the same and reduce the baking powder to 1 tablespoon and I think I would also add a little honey to the recipe. I will be trying this again with some variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Our oven cooks things much faster than any recipe says, so we cooked it for about 40 minute and got a lovely, moist loaf that went fantastically well with our butternut squash soup. We'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and the bread is very yummy, but tastes quite strongly of the beer. It's something nice for a change, especially given how super easy the recipe is, but I don't know that I would make it regularly. Also, next time I think I will use some oatmeal on top, because the texture on top of the bread is quite unattractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States