Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great recipe! Very similar to Tastefully Simple's beer bread mix. I added 2 Tbsp melted butter over the batter before cooking. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I've made this three times and I suggest you DO NOT use 4 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder; use 3 teaspoons. I did some research and looked at other recipes and most recipes that don't use self-rising flour call for 1 teaspoon of baking powder for every 1 cup of flour. When I used 4 1/2 teaspoons the bread had a very distinct, bitter aftertaste. This is a great bread with the baking powder modification. Also, I pour 2 Tablespoons of melted butter on top 10 minutes before it's done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I completely agree with the other review that this should be a 6-star recipe. This bread is absolutely delicious! Great crispy crunch on the outside bbut still rich and moist inside. I think this tastes much, much better than the boxed kind that you pay $4 for. I didn't put it in a loaf pan, just formed it into two small mounds and baked one on a stoneware sheet and the other in a small crockware pan. I used the last bottle of beer I had in the back of my fridge. I think it was Miller lite. At first I thought the dough would be dry because it was not goopy like the boxed kind, but I just used my hands to form it and the final product was fantastic! You can easily modify this to go with any kind of meal or special occassion- savory or sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuperWifey
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Wow!!! As another reviewer said, I also got hooked on beer bread from a Tastefully Simple party and wanted a cheaper fix. I was quite skeptical about this bread because it just seemed too simple. Well, it is definitely simple, but it one of the best beer breads I have ever had! I like dark beer, so that is what I used in the bread. Awesome flavor! I can't overstate how good this bread is. I made it for a dinner party and everyone raved. I decided to give it as a gift at Christmas. (I posted a picture of my "gift" in the photo section of this recipe.) I got the bread pan and bags at the dollar store. I printed up gift tags on business card templates with my computer and on the back I printed the directions. In all, the whole package cost less than $4. I will be making & giving this bread for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperWifey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very good! I cooked it in round pan and took it out a few minutes early- it tastes great and is very moist. This may be the easiest bread I've ever made, too. I just used a leftover bottle of honey ale that had been sitting in the fridge way too long and I already have the ingredients memorized. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I was very pleasantly surprised! Not only was the whole wheat unnoticeable, but this bread succeeded in making a very bad beer (Mad Elf ale) taste very good in a bread. I also added the recommended butter on top before cooking, and would again, as I found it added a wonderful dimension to the bread's flavor. I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup simply because I was too lazy to go find my 1/3 cup measure. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Maybe I just don't like beer breads, though I keep trying them. I didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Delicious and easy, even with Coors Light, which is all I had around at the time. After a few tries I put a couple of handful of shredded cheddar in the mix along with some dill, then sprinkled some of both on top. The cheese was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This turned out great. I used all whole wheat flour because I didn't have any all-purpose on hand. I think next time I will cover the loaf for the last 10 min because it started to brown on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
oooh, I was at a tastefully simple party last night..and wanted their beer bread for my thanksgiving dinner tonight. However, I had to order it, and the lady did not have any on hand to sell right then and there. So..I went searching for a recipe and hit upon this one. YummO..omg, this is soooo goood! and it smells so wonderful baking. Something I'm going to try tomorrow? cream soda, with cinnamon for a breakfast bread and then drizzle some thinned buttercream frosting...I think it will be very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States