Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Faster to prepare than store-bought bread mix, and much more rewarding. After a box of Trader Joe's beer bread mix sat in my cupboard a few months, I made it & it was delicious. (The instructions called for an entire stick of butter melted & poured over the loaf prior to baking...of course it was delicious!) Later I discovered that Trader Joe's mix is a seasonal item and no longer available, so I'd hoped this recipe would compare. It exceeded the quality of the TJ's bread, even without all the melted butter...though a few tablespoons did enhance it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessikraut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
this was so easy to make and absolutely delicious. I didn't change a thing and used an oktoberfest beer. it tasted best when warm-even after being microwaved ;) it's super dense, though, so very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was awesome! I made my first loaf of bread today with this recipe. It's really easy to make and tastes great-my husband loves it. I'm looking forward to experimenting with different beers, as I used whatever we had in the fridge at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bride of thor

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I absolutely love this beer bread. I have so much trouble trying to keep myself away from it after I make it; I'll find myself eating it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner the next day! It might seem like it needs a bit more liquid at first, but do not fear. Just keep stirring and it will eventually all be moistened with just one bottle. I admit, I've used expensive lagers and it's great, but I've also used Select 55 and it's still pretty darn good! The only change I make is from a review I found on here. Before slipping it in the oven, I melt about 1Tbsp of butter and pour it over the top. Also, my baking time varies depending on the depth of the loaf pan I use and the oven I'm using--I'm a young adult trying to settle down, so I've made this bread in different apartments, at home, at grandma's, at fiance's house.....I make it a lot ;-]. I always start checking it around 40min with my wooden skewer or toothpick. I do like using a skewer to check breads because it goes deeper than the toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily.c.craggs@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is a sweet, heavy bread. Too sweet for our taste for bread. It wasn't a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Extremely easy to make with impressive results! I followed this recipe to the letter and used Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, my favorite beer. Nice texture...moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was so yummy and easy to make! I used pumpkin ale so the bread had a little bit of a pumpkin flavor to it...delicious! I didn't have any wheat flour so I just used 3 cups of all purpose flour. I also melted a 1/2 stick of butter and poured it on the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Exactly what I wanted. It's SUPER simple, moist, healthy and tasty. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I absolutely love beer bread so I was excited to try this version with whole wheat flour. I was a little disappointed with the dryness of the bread, but that could be because I used all whole wheat flour. It was still very tasty, but it was pretty dry compared to others I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
DELISH!!! Didn't change a thing, didn't add the butter and it couldn't have been easier or tastier. I used a REALLY old bottle of some random beer in my fridge (equivalent to a Bud). I can't wait to try this with other beers. This will probably become my standard quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States