Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Do not sub Mikes Lemonade beer, I ruined it doing this! Looked awesome tasted awful. But it was my own fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was a super simple recipe, in the oven in 5 minutes. It was nice and dense, and would go great with a soup or stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Wonderful. I used Schiner Bock Beer for a strong yeasty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
What more can you say about a bread that is delicious and takes very little prep time?! The only change I made was to melt 1/2 stick of margarine and pour it over the unbaked bread dough. The butter gave the crust a very rich and crunchy texture. I've made this several times because of its ease in putting it together. Thanks, BLChrisman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Sorry, but this is just awful. Made it exactly as written (used Sierra Nevada Pale Ale). Had terrible aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this with ginger ale and it was delicious. I let it rise for 30 minutes or so before cooking. I also buttered the top and cooked for a few minutes at the end. Great taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Mine didn't turn out very well. There's a few things that I may have not done right. I think maybe the beer had something to do with it? And also I used baking soda instead of baking powder. Next time I will use baking powder or make my own with equal parts baking soda and cream of tartar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdohpaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this recipe!! It is so simple and tastes great. I used all purpose flour with 1 TBL of baking powder and 1 TSP of salt. The only beer I had in the house was Miller Lite. Turned out perfect. The flavor is stronger the next day after baking. I heat up a peice in the microwave for 15 seconds and top with butter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCLARK4414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A hearty, delicious bread which requires minimal time and effort. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Delicious! While it was baking we could hardly wait to eat it due to the yummy smell! I followed the directions as stated, though I did add a tablespoon of melted butter on the top, like others suggested. I had dark brown sugar at home, and I may try that next time just to see. I also used Sharps, a non-alcoholic beer, for that's what I had in the house. SOOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States