Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I love this recipe!! It is so simple and tastes great. I used all purpose flour with 1 TBL of baking powder and 1 TSP of salt. The only beer I had in the house was Miller Lite. Turned out perfect. The flavor is stronger the next day after baking. I heat up a peice in the microwave for 15 seconds and top with butter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCLARK4414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A hearty, delicious bread which requires minimal time and effort. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Delicious! While it was baking we could hardly wait to eat it due to the yummy smell! I followed the directions as stated, though I did add a tablespoon of melted butter on the top, like others suggested. I had dark brown sugar at home, and I may try that next time just to see. I also used Sharps, a non-alcoholic beer, for that's what I had in the house. SOOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
for the amount of work that goes in to this recipe (almost none) the results are fantastic. I will definitely be making it again in the future, but I will probably try adding some seeds, nuts, or something to give the bread some texture. I would also use a flavorful beer. They make so many interesting fruit and spiced varieties now the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nome, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This bread was so easy and absolutely wonderful! I added cheese and garlic like others had suggested and used Michelob Ultra Amber and it turned out great. I will definitely make again and try with other beers to play with the flavor. Boyfriend tested and approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I was excited to try a highly rated whole wheat beer bread recipe, since I make regular beer bread frequently. I was disappointed with the flavor of this bread - way too bitter. The texture was terrific, and I plan on altering the recipe to add more sugar or possibly use white instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
very easy. had my 11 year old make this. will definitely make it again. I might change the ww to regular flour proportions to get a bit lighter bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I love beer bread and this one was very good. I thought this might be too sweet for us, so I cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup. I wouldn’t do that again; I’d use the full amount. It needs that extra sweetness. I particularly like this toasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David and Krista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I've made a few different beer breads, and this was the first one that didn't taste overwhelmingly like beer (I used a can of Coors Light). I also switched the all-purpose flour to bread flour. It rose really high, was wonderful, even the next day, as is. I haven't read any reviews here so forgive me if what I have said, is just a "repeat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIAMIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States