Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this bread. It's very dense, but that is to be expected without yeast and using whole wheat flour. It has great flavor. I used a large individual can of Heineken, which worked out perfectly to make two loaves. I baked them at the same time and they were done in about 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I used Harps Lager for this bread and everyone loved it. The bread has a nice crumb, and I swear that some people would never beleive it was not a yeast bread. I also tried it with Guiness, and it was not nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Just made a loaf yesterday and making two more today. Absolutely easy to make for my first bread and came out as one of the flavorful breads I have had. I took others' recommendations about adding seasonings and kept with the original recipe. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
So easy and delicious! I changed the proportion of flours to 3 1/4c WW Flour and 3/4c AP Flour and dashed some cinnamon on top- even my dad who's hesitant when it comes to whole wheat breads loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Awesome if you are searching for the alternative to the expensive Tastefully Simple recipe as I was. My boyfriend gave it a 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was so easy to put together and we had everything on hand. Cut the salt way down. Really good flavor and not dry. Crunchy crust. Had to eat a piece still warm with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I made this with Blue Moon and really wasn't too impressed. I could see this being served with soup or chili as a decent side for dipping (catching other flavors) but not much more than that. It wasn't bad but not incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Excellent & easy! It was delicious served hot out of the oven an make great toast for breakfast. Yum. I love another members idea of giving the dry mix as a gift. Thanks for sharing folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toledo, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This bread turned out too salty and kind of dense for our taste. I would use a lot less salt (I used kosher salt) next time. I also think melted butter on the bottom of the pan and drizzled on top (make sure you use unsalted butter) will improve the taste dramatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This bread was super simple to make in the Kitchenaid and came out perfect! Following other reviewers advise, I poured 1/4 C. melted salted butter over bread before baking. Used Pacifica Clara mexican beer and it was very tasty! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brown Rabbitmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States