Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very good - not the prettiest loaf you'll see (admittedly, I may not have mixed or shaped the dough enough, etc.), but tastes wonderful - great texture. I used Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorenHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Did not turn out. Crust was tough and had a weird aftertaste. Used an IPA so not sure if that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I am so happy to have found this recipe. I make sourdough bread for the fam (a 2 day process), but now that I have this recipe...buhbye sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Do not sub Mikes Lemonade beer, I ruined it doing this! Looked awesome tasted awful. But it was my own fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was a super simple recipe, in the oven in 5 minutes. It was nice and dense, and would go great with a soup or stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Wonderful. I used Schiner Bock Beer for a strong yeasty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
What more can you say about a bread that is delicious and takes very little prep time?! The only change I made was to melt 1/2 stick of margarine and pour it over the unbaked bread dough. The butter gave the crust a very rich and crunchy texture. I've made this several times because of its ease in putting it together. Thanks, BLChrisman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Sorry, but this is just awful. Made it exactly as written (used Sierra Nevada Pale Ale). Had terrible aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this with ginger ale and it was delicious. I let it rise for 30 minutes or so before cooking. I also buttered the top and cooked for a few minutes at the end. Great taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Mine didn't turn out very well. There's a few things that I may have not done right. I think maybe the beer had something to do with it? And also I used baking soda instead of baking powder. Next time I will use baking powder or make my own with equal parts baking soda and cream of tartar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdohpaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States