Whole Wheat Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
As with other new recipes, I try to decide what I will do differently the next time. The bread looks beautiful and has the crusty top as promised because I poured butter on top. I also love the texture. However, next time I will dilute the beer with water, 8 oz. beer, 4 oz. water, to reduce the "beer-y" after-taste and also halve the brown sugar from one third cup to one sixth. I thought it was too sweet for bread. One reviewer thought it was too salty and I too sweet! Just goes to show how tastes vary. I will definitely make this again this winter when we have homemade soup. I did enjoy a small chunk this morning, toasted with jelly. I am keeping it in the fridge in plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I used Killians Red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good. I used "Honey Brown" for the beer and added about two tablespoons honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This bread was so easy, and so delicious! Nearly as good as those expensive boxed beer bread mixes. I also added a little butter on top as it was baking as was suggested on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This had a strange taste and was too sweet AND too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
simply heaven! Amazing bread, made it with butter as recommended by other reviewers. super easy and absolutely delicious ! Added dried herbs to butter and it gave it a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Best beer bread I've ever made. Not dry or chewy. I added nuts to the recipe and salted the top. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fred Boyles
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is the first loaf of bread that I made with my new (to me) wheat mill. I was looking for a recipe that I had all the ingredients for and this one fit the bill. I used Abita Mardi Gras Bock. Haven't tasted yet but it smells wonderful. I'll try to update once we cut into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Boyles

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Absolutely fabulous!! I used 3 cups of whole wheat flour instead of half-and-half and it was delicious. Absolutely make this recipe -- easy, unusual and completely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivybaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Loved this recipe! Very easy and the bread turned out very flavorful. I used Guinness Extra Stout and per other reviews topped my bread with 1/4 cup of melted butter before placing it in the oven. It baked for 50 minutes at 350 in a dark loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States