Whole Wheat Banana Strawberry Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
the strawberry disappeared into the bread and there was not enough banana to make a statement, even though I added slightly more than suggested in the recipe. It really didn't have anything wonderful about it, just a dry lacklustre fruit bread. I may try it again with increased everything, but not in any hurry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was great. Replaced the oil with applesauce and served it warm...Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Fantastic recipe.i use it at work and everyone loves it and ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
After reading the reviews, I decided to make changes to the recipe as well. I was doubling the recipe for a camping trip with my larger family, so I used a 9x13 pan. I used 3c wheat flour and 1c white flour, added a touch of vanilla extract, an extra dash or two of cinnamon, 2 dashes allspice, and a heaping handful each of freeze dried strawberries and walnuts. (Recipes for quick breads don't require precision measurements) I baked the bread in a 325 degree oven for 1 hour, and the bread came out moist, delicious, and cake-like. My family loved it. With the moisture level I got using freeze dried fruit, I would not recommend using wet fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
For a healthier version, I replaced the oil with unsweetened applesauce and i used 1/2 cup of sugar.I also used frozen blueberries. Turned out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this a few days ago for my children, and even my husband who is not a fan of strawberrries or wheat bread enjoyed it. I did substitute applesauce for all of the oil and honey for all of the sugar to make it a little more healthy and it still turned out nice and moist. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I made this by hand and it was awesome. One of the only recipes I used as written and didn't have the desire to modify. The bread was so moist and soft. WE LOVED IT! Can't wait to go strawberry picking just for this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Great base recipe that I could change up to suit my needs. I had to make just a couple of substitutions to cut back on sugar and use the ingredients I had on hand. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is really good! I cut the sugar down to only one cup, and it was absolutely enough. I also made into muffins instead of bread. Made 12 good size muffins, baked at 350 for 19 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PoorGirlEatingClassy
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This was great! I changed a LOT though..i used only 1/2 c of oil, 1 c white sugar and 2 mashed bananas. I added about a teaspoon of vanilla and a dash of salt. Then i folded in some blueberries and topped half with walnuts...soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoorGirlEatingClassy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hyannis, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States