Whole Wheat Banana Strawberry Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Wow! This natural-foods enthusiast says, "thumbs up". I revised some of the ingredients, and it was still incredibly delicious. The pale pink color inside is lovely as well. [I scaled down the sugar to about 1 cup (and used raw), and I used a combo of alternate grains (cornmeal, rice flour,buckwheat, etc.)to substitute part of the whole wheat flour for variety. To add moisture and reduce fat, I substituted applesauce for part of the vegetable oil. Adding a pinch of ginger spices it up nicely too. It's so good that I'm baking it for the teachers at my kids' school for their special luncheon. Thank you!!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
Whole wheat banana stawberry bread was quick to make and tasted great, especially after being in the refrigerator a few days. We liked it lightly toasted with a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This receipe was great, especially the bursts of strawberry chunks! Great for a morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
I took the bread out of the oven after one hour. It came out very moist, best eaten with a fork, and very tasty. I could have left it in longer for firmer bread but the outside seemed to be getting too brown to leave in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I had everything in the kitchen to make this bread. Very easy! I ommited the oil and use a fruit based baking substitute instead. I liked it so much, I tried it with blueberries too. (which was even better than the strawberry) Pecans are a great add in as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by efiallos
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Whole Wheat Banana Bread is typically dry. The strawberries make all the difference though! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
Delicious! Never have I seen any banana bread consumed faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKFIREBALL21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This loaf turned out great! I cut back the sugar to 1/2c. and the oil to 1/4c. I also added one extra banana and doubled the strawberries. Chopped pecans were a great addition, as well as 3 T. of cocoa. What a great chocolatey and healthy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Great recipe. But I did a few changes. I used 1/4 cup butter in place of oil and only used 1 and 1/4 cup of sugar. I also added 1/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup silk chai latte, a dash of salt, and little vanilla extract. I also added pecan pieces and sliced an extra banana on top of the loaf before baking. It came out soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I love this recipe! I made it practically guilt free by substituting apple sauce for oil and egg substitute for the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States