Whole Wheat Banana Strawberry Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Wow! This natural-foods enthusiast says, "thumbs up". I revised some of the ingredients, and it was still incredibly delicious. The pale pink color inside is lovely as well. [I scaled down the sugar to about 1 cup (and used raw), and I used a combo of alternate grains (cornmeal, rice flour,buckwheat, etc.)to substitute part of the whole wheat flour for variety. To add moisture and reduce fat, I substituted applesauce for part of the vegetable oil. Adding a pinch of ginger spices it up nicely too. It's so good that I'm baking it for the teachers at my kids' school for their special luncheon. Thank you!!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This loaf turned out great! I cut back the sugar to 1/2c. and the oil to 1/4c. I also added one extra banana and doubled the strawberries. Chopped pecans were a great addition, as well as 3 T. of cocoa. What a great chocolatey and healthy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2001
My husband didn't like this bread. He said it tastes like flour... I didn't find it anything special or great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Good, although I think the recipe needs some adjustments. It certainly needs a small amount of salt and vanilla. I added pecans which and used frozen strawberries. Fresh strawberries would be much better since the frozen ones kind of just turned to mush when I tried to stir them into the batter. If you want more strawberry taste, you could add strawberry puree for daiquiris in addition to the chopped fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Don't let the amount of sugar in this recipe scare you off - I made it with only 1/2 cup of sugar and it came out great. It makes it more of a snack bread and less of a dessert. I also reduced the oil to 1/3 cup and added a bit of salt, vanilla and nutmeg. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Very moist & full of flavor. The outside of the bread did start browning too much so I cut the temp down by 25 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
I took the bread out of the oven after one hour. It came out very moist, best eaten with a fork, and very tasty. I could have left it in longer for firmer bread but the outside seemed to be getting too brown to leave in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
The bread seemed over-done when I cooked it the hour and 15 minutes. If I made it again, I'd cook it for less time. The flavor was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
Whole wheat banana stawberry bread was quick to make and tasted great, especially after being in the refrigerator a few days. We liked it lightly toasted with a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is really good! I cut the sugar down to only one cup, and it was absolutely enough. I also made into muffins instead of bread. Made 12 good size muffins, baked at 350 for 19 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States