Whole Wheat Banana Strawberry Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2000
Whole wheat banana stawberry bread was quick to make and tasted great, especially after being in the refrigerator a few days. We liked it lightly toasted with a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
The bread seemed over-done when I cooked it the hour and 15 minutes. If I made it again, I'd cook it for less time. The flavor was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
I took the bread out of the oven after one hour. It came out very moist, best eaten with a fork, and very tasty. I could have left it in longer for firmer bread but the outside seemed to be getting too brown to leave in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
Delicious! Never have I seen any banana bread consumed faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Wow! This natural-foods enthusiast says, "thumbs up". I revised some of the ingredients, and it was still incredibly delicious. The pale pink color inside is lovely as well. [I scaled down the sugar to about 1 cup (and used raw), and I used a combo of alternate grains (cornmeal, rice flour,buckwheat, etc.)to substitute part of the whole wheat flour for variety. To add moisture and reduce fat, I substituted applesauce for part of the vegetable oil. Adding a pinch of ginger spices it up nicely too. It's so good that I'm baking it for the teachers at my kids' school for their special luncheon. Thank you!!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2001
My husband didn't like this bread. He said it tastes like flour... I didn't find it anything special or great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Very moist & full of flavor. The outside of the bread did start browning too much so I cut the temp down by 25 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Not bad but just not great. I didn't think the strawberries had much impact on the recipe. The bread did turn out very moist and it does brown very quickly - but overall - no big whoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
This was a tasty bread, but nothing spectacular. The strawberries don't add much flavor so if you want that flavor I would suggest adding more and probably mashing them up or pureeing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This receipe was great, especially the bursts of strawberry chunks! Great for a morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States