Whole Wheat Banana Strawberry Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Yum, really like this, I also subed some applesauce for oil and used half wheat flour and half oat flour. I only cooked for an hour, came out a little brown on the outside, but perfect otherwise. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was so fabulous...everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhomemadegifts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I made this recipe for a hypoglycemic friend of mine by substituting the sugar with splenda and the oil with apple sauce and it still turned out really good. I was AMAZED!!!! I did increase the strawberry amount to almost two cups of quartered strawberries, but the bread part tasted delicious. I think next time I will use one more banana though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by efiallos
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Whole Wheat Banana Bread is typically dry. The strawberries make all the difference though! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I love this recipe! I made it practically guilt free by substituting apple sauce for oil and egg substitute for the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This came out okay, but not great (I did get some very good reviews, but I think next time I might try a different recipe). I did make some changes, though. I added salt, vanilla and more fruit than stated by the recipe, and I substituted splenda for sugar, egg beaters for eggs and applesauce for all of the oil. Overall there was nothing wrong with it, but I probably won't make it again. I'd give it a 3.5 if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Great recipe. But I did a few changes. I used 1/4 cup butter in place of oil and only used 1 and 1/4 cup of sugar. I also added 1/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup silk chai latte, a dash of salt, and little vanilla extract. I also added pecan pieces and sliced an extra banana on top of the loaf before baking. It came out soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This loaf turned out great! I cut back the sugar to 1/2c. and the oil to 1/4c. I also added one extra banana and doubled the strawberries. Chopped pecans were a great addition, as well as 3 T. of cocoa. What a great chocolatey and healthy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Don't let the amount of sugar in this recipe scare you off - I made it with only 1/2 cup of sugar and it came out great. It makes it more of a snack bread and less of a dessert. I also reduced the oil to 1/3 cup and added a bit of salt, vanilla and nutmeg. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
As is, this recipe does not work. I forgot to read the reviews before making it, so I made it exactly as it reads. The top was burned, the inside too moist, and it fell apart coming out. The flavor is ok, but a little sweet, and I think too much oil. Wish I had taken suggestions from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States