Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I've made this several times and love it! Like others, I use unsweetened applesauce to replace the oil. I've found using only 1/3 cup leaves it a little dry, so I've doubled it to 2/3 cups and it's very moist. I've also thrown in 1 cup of coconut when I've had some left over and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe "as is" and used 3 medium sized bananas. I did NOT sub for applesauce because everyone in my family hates it when I do that (they do not like the consistency). This bread is delicious! It is moist, flavorful, and so quick and easy to prepare. Add a few spices to your liking (ginger, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, etc.) and you will have found your favorite healthy banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I tried this with applesauce instead of oil based on the other review and it came out good.Will try again and improvise next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
used greek yoghurt (fat free) instead of oil and added a little bit less flour and a half cup of raw muesil(granola). Turned out really well and it is healthy which is a huge benefit when trying to feed it to diet conscious people. Plus it was really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I have made this recipe twice, once as a loaf and tonight as muffins. I baked the muffins about 23 minutes, and that was maybe a minute too long. Tonight I used maple syrup in place of the honey because I have heard that heating honey to a baking temperature does something to it that releases toxins. The first time I used half maple syrup and half natural sugar. I prefer the mix rather than just syrup. I only had 1/4 cup of walnuts, so that's what I used. I cut the oil to 1/4 cup of coconut oil. The taste was great. Next time I'll try it with raisins, and if I skimp on the oil again, I'll add more banana or a bit of applesauce to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I substituted the applesauce for the oil and added 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also used 4 bananas and it turned out AMAZING! I will definitely save this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I Loved this recipe. I was out of honey so i sub. with 1/2 cup brown sugar. I cant stop making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great Recipe but I have found that cooking is to long specialy in a pinch so I use 9 inch cake pan and cut the time in half. You still have to check with a tooth pick if done....I took the water away and added half cup of OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Wow! My kids gobbled this up... they had no idea that it was actually a healthy treat! I substituted 1/2 of the oil with ground flax (substitute 1 part oil with 3 parts ground flax)... so instead of 1/3 cup oil, I used 1/6 cup oil and 1/2 cup ground flax seed. It rose nicely and was very moist. I cut a slice and either toast it or heat in microwave then top with a little butter spray and some light cream cheese... very tasty! Thank you! This is a recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is really good. I've always used my grandmother's lard based recipe. Very nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States