Whole Wheat Apple Pancakes with Brown Sugar Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I also tried the recipe and it is way off. I was determined to make it work, so i tried it with 1/2 the baking powder, 1/2 the liquid, added 1/2 cup of water, 1 apple diced very small. I didnt make the sauce as i thought it was way too fattening, i just put light syrup on top. They were thick, and very hearty pancakes, very filling, but good after the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
With some modifications, this recipe could be a good one. I used 2 cups whole wheat flour, 4 teaspoons baking powder (1/4 cup of a rising agent is way too much), the 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 1/2 cups milk, 1/4 cup honey (pancakes need sweetener in my opinion!), 2 eggs, and 1/4 cup canola oil. This at least will give you a good basic pancake recipe. From here, add or omit the cinnamon, apples, etc. Didn't do the glaze, but a brown sugar glaze sounds intriguing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I'm glad I didn't read any reviews first or I might have been scared away. GLAD I WASN'T! I halved everything in the recipe to feed fewer ~ I thought they turned out great but I had to add a little more milk to thin them out since I like thinner pancakes. I'm not sure why so many people feel they need to modify this recipe... I think you should take them at face value. With whole wheat flour and no sugar, this recipe will only appeal to a few people. Our family was one. Everyone devoured them! I didn't make the brown sugar glaze but if I did I sure wouldn't want sugar in the cakes PLUS this glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This recipe did not work at all. There is far, far too much baking powder, too much liquid, and the apple chunks are too large. It took quite a bit of doctoring to make it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
this was a hard lesson for me in reading the reviews of others before making a recipe. you definitely don't need that much baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I made this exactly the way the recipe called it, except I used sea salt instead of salt. Pretty good except I agree, way too much baking powder, the batter was very "fluffy" but it helped to encompass the apple chunks. Pancakes were a little dry but the brown sugar glaze was SO good and helped. I used light brown sugar because I didn't have any dark on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
These are really good, not sure why there are all these negative reviews! The consistency was good, not too sloppy at all. The only change I made based on the reviews was to reduce the baking powder to 2 1/2 tsp. I didn't miss a sweetener and served them with regular syrup. Yum! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This looked like a lovely recipe, but there was WAY too much baking powder. I would say use half the required amount at most. Otherwise, though, they were great, and with a modification or two I would probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
not bad! I also tried using 2 cups ground whole oatmeal rather than flour, I ground it in my coffee grinder. Yummo!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
the thought is good, but i don't see how this could be a healthy alternative with a whole cup of butter and a whole cup of brown sugar --its probably worse that regular pancakes! will definitely try this recipe with some modifications. perhaps with a topping of a cinnamon topping made with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laxrugby15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States