Whole Rice and Lentils (Majadara) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by danimuz23
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I ended up using 3 cups of water and cooking it for 60 minutes, but it came out wonderfully. This was my first time cooking lentils and my 14 month old daughter and I loved it!!! We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I used 3 1/2 cups of liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Larsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is excellent!!! I followed the recipe directions exactly. However, I didn't have green lentils, so I used brown. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
1cup rice 1cup lentils 2 1/2 cup water? After 30 min rice was crunchy added another half cup water and simmered for remaining 15 min still not tender added another half cup and continue to simmer also very salty had a great aroma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I loved the flavor. I think the recipe assumed that the lentils were soaked, and thus full of water, because the 2.5 cups is only enough for the rice. With the adjustment, I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is so yummy! The touch of cinnamon makes it sweet and exotic. Next time I'd reduce the pepper since my son doesn't like anything spicy. My husband suggested diced tomatoes too, since it was a little dry. (I think he's just used to Spanish rice.) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Turned out much better than I expected, even though I didn't have a full cup of lentils to add in. Chicken stock to replace the water adds some extra flavor. 2 of my 3 kids ate it up happily, so I count that a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
First time: I made without the lentils and half the amount of pepper and it tasted great! With the lentils next time. Second time: included the lentils and after 55+ minutes the lentils weren't cooked :( going to need to try over 65 minutes next time. The overall taste is very promising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Needed a side dish to pair with our middle-eastern grilled chicken kebabs and wanted to use what we had on hand and found this. I really loved it but for my family,it was so-so because they're not much of a brown rice lover. Made little changes such as using tri-colored lentils (green, brown, & yellow) and chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I have no idea what majadara is supposed to taste like. This is the first time I have ever had it, but this recipe is fabulous! I substituted the fresh garlic for 1/16 tsp garlic powder (because that's what I had around the house). I think this will become one of our staples. YUMMY! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States