Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Wow very impressive. I thought these were great and never would have known they were "healthy" if I hadn't made them myself. I couldn't find whole wheat pastry flour so used regular whole wheat flour. I also used egg beaters instead of eggs and Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I give this recipe 5 stars for health and taste. I did not have pastry flour so I used whole wheat flour. I omitted the oil and replaced that 1 for 1 with extra apple sauce, used Splenda instead of sugar and added about 1 tsp of brown sugar. This reduced the overall fat to 6% and calories to 193 per serving (2 waffles). Thanks for the wholesome waffle recipe, will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Yummy :) I didn't have any flax seed so I used ground oatmeal instead. The batter was extremely thin so I added a bit of extra flour. They came out delicious! I love the crunchiness of wheat germ and the wholesome taste that these have. Served with light butter and low sugar syrup - what a delicous (and healthy!) breakfast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
The only waffles I make anymore! This recipe is wonderful. They're not just good for healthy food, they are really really good. Crisp exterior, creamy interior. Freeze wonderfully -- I make a batch on the weekends and freeze leftovers, pop in toaster oven and they are perfect. My substitutions - regular whole wheat flour instead of pastry and 1/4-1/2 c. of oatmeal for flaxseed meal. ( I have used both quick cooking and old fashioned. Both good. Old fashioned obviously adds a bit more texture) Can't say enough good things about this recipe! Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Truly magnificent waffles - and you can feel good feeding them to your family. We almost always double it so we can freeze them for mornings we are running late or PBJ sandwiches for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I'm addicted to these waffles they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
All the reviews assured me that this recipe tolerated substitutions very, very well. I used *white whole wheat* flour instead of whole wheat pastry flour, and had no wheat germ, so used more of the white whole wheat. The only applesauce in the house was an unopened 50 oz jar, so I pondered the possibilities and mashed up some banana. Two thumbs up! I've been on a cardiac-friendly diet since I was 39. This meets the requirements and is very good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
These were really yummy! I love the nutty flavor & texture. I made the following changes: halved the oil and added 1 mashed banana, added about 1/3 c chopped walnuts, 1 tsp cinnamon, and about 1/3 c semi sweet chocolate chips to appease hubby! Delish! I also used all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
GREAT recipe! I use fat free milk and add 1 scoop of protein powder. My children and husband ask for these almost every weekend. I haven't had the chance to try freezing them, we've never had left overs for more than a day or 2, even with doubling the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States