Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I give this recipe 5 stars for health and taste. I did not have pastry flour so I used whole wheat flour. I omitted the oil and replaced that 1 for 1 with extra apple sauce, used Splenda instead of sugar and added about 1 tsp of brown sugar. This reduced the overall fat to 6% and calories to 193 per serving (2 waffles). Thanks for the wholesome waffle recipe, will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
423 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
The only waffles I make anymore! This recipe is wonderful. They're not just good for healthy food, they are really really good. Crisp exterior, creamy interior. Freeze wonderfully -- I make a batch on the weekends and freeze leftovers, pop in toaster oven and they are perfect. My substitutions - regular whole wheat flour instead of pastry and 1/4-1/2 c. of oatmeal for flaxseed meal. ( I have used both quick cooking and old fashioned. Both good. Old fashioned obviously adds a bit more texture) Can't say enough good things about this recipe! Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Very Yummy! I did not have the flax seed meal or wheat germ. I substituted virgin olive oil for the canola, and used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup white flour, and a generous 1/4 cup oatmeal. I also added 1 extra Tblsp sugar. These were great plain! Kids loved them plain as a snack or meal with fruits or syrup. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
These are fantastic! I used all whole wheat flour and applesauce in place of the oil. Really filling and delicious. Made the buttermilk syrup recipe from this site - perfect combo. Recipe only makes six, so may want to dbl. if you want to freeze some. Thanks so much for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Although I've always used a favorite from an old Farm Journal cookbook, this is the best waffle recipe I've ever tried and is now my new fave! My husband started making happy sounds after 2 bites and asked me to put another one on--that is a good sign at my house. My criteria for a good waffle is crispiness and flavor, and this one has both. The fact that it is healthy is a bonus. I didn't have wheat germ so I ground some old-fashioned oats. Great 5-star recipe Mitch103/What A Dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I was a little skeptical before making these waffles, but they turned out surprisingly light, filling, and delicious. They freeze well for a healthier alternative to Eggo’s during the week. I train for marathons and have found these to be a great pre- or post- run breakfast. They’re a new Saturday morning favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Light, savory, and very very easy! I didn't have the flax seed meal or wheat germ, so just increased the flour a bit to compensate. And instead of the applesauce, mashed an over-ripe pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is the best! I made them exactly as noted and they turned out delicious. It's a keeper and a great way to eat healthy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I had neither flax seed meal or W?W pastry flour so used reg. W/W flour and used oatmeal for the flax. The mixture was extremely runny so I added extra flour and oatmeal. I still was runny but I tried it just the same and it cooked up nice. I used 1/3 cup of mix per side in the waffle maker. The entire family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Great light texture and very tasty. It seems I am always doctoring up other recipes to try to incorporate more fiber and healthier ingredients--here's a recipe that is perfect just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet-tooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States