Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I give this recipe 5 stars for health and taste. I did not have pastry flour so I used whole wheat flour. I omitted the oil and replaced that 1 for 1 with extra apple sauce, used Splenda instead of sugar and added about 1 tsp of brown sugar. This reduced the overall fat to 6% and calories to 193 per serving (2 waffles). Thanks for the wholesome waffle recipe, will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
The only waffles I make anymore! This recipe is wonderful. They're not just good for healthy food, they are really really good. Crisp exterior, creamy interior. Freeze wonderfully -- I make a batch on the weekends and freeze leftovers, pop in toaster oven and they are perfect. My substitutions - regular whole wheat flour instead of pastry and 1/4-1/2 c. of oatmeal for flaxseed meal. ( I have used both quick cooking and old fashioned. Both good. Old fashioned obviously adds a bit more texture) Can't say enough good things about this recipe! Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Very Yummy! I did not have the flax seed meal or wheat germ. I substituted virgin olive oil for the canola, and used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup white flour, and a generous 1/4 cup oatmeal. I also added 1 extra Tblsp sugar. These were great plain! Kids loved them plain as a snack or meal with fruits or syrup. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
These are fantastic! I used all whole wheat flour and applesauce in place of the oil. Really filling and delicious. Made the buttermilk syrup recipe from this site - perfect combo. Recipe only makes six, so may want to dbl. if you want to freeze some. Thanks so much for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Although I've always used a favorite from an old Farm Journal cookbook, this is the best waffle recipe I've ever tried and is now my new fave! My husband started making happy sounds after 2 bites and asked me to put another one on--that is a good sign at my house. My criteria for a good waffle is crispiness and flavor, and this one has both. The fact that it is healthy is a bonus. I didn't have wheat germ so I ground some old-fashioned oats. Great 5-star recipe Mitch103/What A Dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I was a little skeptical before making these waffles, but they turned out surprisingly light, filling, and delicious. They freeze well for a healthier alternative to Eggo’s during the week. I train for marathons and have found these to be a great pre- or post- run breakfast. They’re a new Saturday morning favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Light, savory, and very very easy! I didn't have the flax seed meal or wheat germ, so just increased the flour a bit to compensate. And instead of the applesauce, mashed an over-ripe pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is the best! I made them exactly as noted and they turned out delicious. It's a keeper and a great way to eat healthy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I had neither flax seed meal or W?W pastry flour so used reg. W/W flour and used oatmeal for the flax. The mixture was extremely runny so I added extra flour and oatmeal. I still was runny but I tried it just the same and it cooked up nice. I used 1/3 cup of mix per side in the waffle maker. The entire family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Great light texture and very tasty. It seems I am always doctoring up other recipes to try to incorporate more fiber and healthier ingredients--here's a recipe that is perfect just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet-tooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States