Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
These rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I used 1 mashed ripe banana instead of applesauce, vegetable oil instead of canola oil, 1 1/4 50/50 whole wheat/white flour instead of 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 cup all purpose flour. Processed 1/2 cup of flax seeds in spice grinder to replace flax meal. 3 TBLS Splenda. and a dash of almond extract to enhance the "nutty" flavor. Baking powder is key to the fluffy texture. Freeze left overs; they toast up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silagh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
These were AMAZING! I followed some of the substitutions others suggested (oats for flaxseed), (white whole wheat flower for pastry flour and all purpose flour) and (coconut oil for canola oil and applesauce). Just a note on the coconut oil - add that as the very last ingredient (after slightly warmed in microwave to liquify). I added cold milk right after the coconut oil, and since it is solid at room temp - the cold milk made it go right back to solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I haven't been able to get flax, whole wheat waffles past 4 picky kids until now. I cheated and added 2tbsp of cocoa just to hide the darker color of the wheat and flax. Bam, they ate them up! Super crispy and delicious. I put the left overs in the freezer and they toast up beautifully the next day. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is the best waffle recipe I've ever used and super simple. I love the fact that I don't have to beat the eggs whites to get the crisp outside and soft fluffy inside that I love. This one is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These are very flavorful waffles. I used applesauce in place of the oil and since I didn't have flax seed meal I used oatmeal (as other reviewers suggested). These were great!! I recieved a waffle maker for Mothers Day and have been looking for a whole wheat/whole grain recipe to try. My only complaint was that they weren't crispy. that may be my fault -- still learning how to use my first waffle maker. Don't know what I'm doing wrong. These were great and we had plenty to freeze for later -- I'm sure they'll be crispy from the toaster! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is an excellent, tasty, easy recipe. We are trying to modify our diet to more healthy choices, and this is so good, the kids don't even know it's good for them. Top with strawberries or cashew butter instead of syrup for a change of pace. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These waffles are a staple in our home. I've been making them at least twice a month for the last year. I don't use whole wheat pastry flour so I use 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup regular flour. When I don't have applesauce on hand, I substitute plain yogurt. This is our favorite waffle recipe! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Finally I have found the perfect waffle recipe!!!!! I've been toying with recipes for at about six months. This is PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
A great recipe. This is my first review even though I use All Recipes a lot. This recipe warranted a thumbs up. My kids love the waffles; they are easy to make, and they are so healthy. Love, love, love. I substituted whole wheat flour for pastry flour, and used oatmeal instead of wheat germ. Nothing else was changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States