Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These deliciously filling whole-grain waffles are my go-to 'special breakfast'! My kids love them, and that makes me feel good. I myself can't eat those spongy white ones anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was the best waffle recipe I've found. I used two very ripe bananas instead of the apple sauce and oil. It was only because I didn't have the other two on hand. Turned out great. My son who is a picky eater had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I love "hearty" waffles from restaurants, but these were just okay. I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These were very easy to make and quite filling. I substituted my son's organic unsweetened applesauce with cinnamon, thinking it would give it some good flavor, but didn't really taste it. Next time I'll probably add some cinnamon to the batter. Good, healthy recipe that made 8 Belgian waffles. 2 year old son liked them with some butter and organic honey on top. Would definitely make them again. I froze the leftovers as a quick breakfast so hopefully they'll be just as good after a quick thaw in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I did not have any wheat germ, so substituted oat bran. I had flax seed on hand, but next time I will grind it in my coffee grinder. The seeds kept getting stuck in my teeth! The batter was a little thin, so I only poured about 2/3 the amount I usually do in the waffle maker to prevent it from pouring out the sides. They puffed up really nicely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I didn't have applesauce but used pureed yam instead - they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Used 1 1/4 tsp baking soda and no baking powder. Added 1 tsp salt and 1/3 c. sugar instead of what was suggested. Used all whole wheat instead of flax and germ. Great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Way to much baking powder...I had stomach pains within 10 minutes of eating it and my husband ended up having stomach pains as well. Other than that, the flavor was just ok, they taste just like whole grain waffles, but nothing special. Wish I could give them a better review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
These waffles have great ingredients and flavor!!! My only problem was that they kept sticking to my waffle iron and pulling apart, even though I had oiled it well. They were also very soft on the outside, not crispy. I wondered if they simply need a longer cooking time, but they were already pretty brown on the outside... Hmm. I will continue to make them and experiment with times... I love how healthy and tasty they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These are truly amazing! I was thinking they would not be as good as traditional value because of the healthy ingrediants....but they may have been better! I did add blueberries to some of the batter....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States