Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I did not have any wheat germ, so substituted oat bran. I had flax seed on hand, but next time I will grind it in my coffee grinder. The seeds kept getting stuck in my teeth! The batter was a little thin, so I only poured about 2/3 the amount I usually do in the waffle maker to prevent it from pouring out the sides. They puffed up really nicely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I didn't have applesauce but used pureed yam instead - they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Used 1 1/4 tsp baking soda and no baking powder. Added 1 tsp salt and 1/3 c. sugar instead of what was suggested. Used all whole wheat instead of flax and germ. Great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Way to much baking powder...I had stomach pains within 10 minutes of eating it and my husband ended up having stomach pains as well. Other than that, the flavor was just ok, they taste just like whole grain waffles, but nothing special. Wish I could give them a better review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
These waffles have great ingredients and flavor!!! My only problem was that they kept sticking to my waffle iron and pulling apart, even though I had oiled it well. They were also very soft on the outside, not crispy. I wondered if they simply need a longer cooking time, but they were already pretty brown on the outside... Hmm. I will continue to make them and experiment with times... I love how healthy and tasty they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These are truly amazing! I was thinking they would not be as good as traditional value because of the healthy ingrediants....but they may have been better! I did add blueberries to some of the batter....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is an amazing whole grain waffle recipe. Just what I was looking for. I didn't use the oil and replaced it with 1/4 C of applesauce to make a total of 1/2 C of applesauce. It came out fantastic. My new waffle recipe staple. I am a waffle fanatic, so this is big coming from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by briannvikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very good waffles. Easy to make and my kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I've been looking for a waffle recipe I could make myself as I move away from prepackaged foods. I was excited to see all of the 5 star reviews for this recipe, but I ended up being disappointed. They taste like nothing. The only way I could get them to taste flavorful was to saturate them with syrup, which defeats the purpose of eating 'healthy' waffles. I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These have a fabulous flavor - some of the best I've had in any waffle, anywhere. Unfortunately, the texture just isn't right. They're too soft and don't get that crispy exterior that a waffle should. Even when I set my waffle maker to a high/dark setting they don't retain the crispiness normally associated with waffles. Love the flavor, but I almost wonder if it would make better pancake batter than waffle batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Foster Baer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watseka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States