Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
On previewing the recipe and seeing "Serves 6", I doubled the recipe for our sometimes ravenous children. These waffles are REALLY filling! I followed the recipe and used all ingredients listed. The batter rose nicely in my 8" by 9" waffle maker. The double recipe produced about 6.5 full 8x9 waffles. I had leftovers! The extras were cooled on a rack, and will be frozen for toaster waffles... WAY cheaper than the pre-packaged ones, and far more satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CulinaryExperimenter
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe that you can quickly whip up and feel like your family is having a (fairly) healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I wanted to wean my daughter of egos with something healthier. I made this but substituted more canoloa oil for the apple sauce and whole white wheat all purpose flour for the flax seed meal, wheat germ and half of the pastry flour. I also added just sprinkle of cinnamon that I swirled into the batter to give that amazing waffle smell and taste. She loved these and said they were much better than the store bought waffles, so it all went much better and smoother than I anticipated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is a delicious HEALTHIER and kid-friendly recipe. We added 1/3 cup of bittersweet chocolate chips to the batter. The kids (4 1/2) gobbled them up, without adding any maple syrup. We didn't have any wheat germ so we substituted with more all-purpose flour. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I have been making this recipe for several years, at least once a week. My entire (picky) family loves them. The texture is amazingly light, and they are obviously healthy compared to regular waffles which aren't nearly as good. Over the years, I've found that if I switch ingredient brands, they come out differently. Make these waffles exactly as written. The best ingredient brand is Bob's Red Mill (they make the whole wheat pastry flour). I recently used a different brand of flax seed meal until it ran out, and the batter was always runny. When I buy Bob's flour, flax and wheat germ, they always turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Loved this recipe. I bought all the ingredients because I knew I would be making these over and over. My husband loves waffles and I wanted to give him a healthy alternative. He loves them, as do I. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Don't care for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time today & loved it! Thanks for posting this - they are delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Good basic recipe. Used buttermilk and 1/4 c brown sugar as additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Stuart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My husband and I make these waffles every Sunday night! It's delicious & has a good amount of fiber. It yields 4 waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashtinrae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States