Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I added a 1/2 tsp. of salt and a tsp. of vanilla. I also added about a cup of fresh blueberries. I suggest letting the batter sit for a couple minutes to soak up some of the wet. Oatmeal, corn meal and wheat flour will do that if you let it rest after mixing. These turned out fluffy and tasted great. I'd make these again. I might add another 1/2 c. of oatmeal next time, the batter was just a little thin, even after letting it sit for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These were very fluffy, and we loved the combination of grains. The cornmeal adds a fun crunch. After reading tat2wttrsh's comment about the thin batter, I put together the batter last night, and let it sit in the fridge until this morning. It was thin when I first mixed it together, but the flours and oats did soak up all the extra liquid overnight, and the batter was just right this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
The kids said these were the best pancakes, and I agree. The cornmeal adds a great crunch, and they have great flavor and sweetness, in spite of the low amount of sugar. This is definitely a keeper. I had to add more whole wheat flour (1/3-1/2 c.) to make the consistently thicker. I used old-fashioned rolled oats vs. quick. I used powdered buttermilk mixed with 1 cup water, 1 cup milk. I also added a couple teaspoons of vanilla and few dashes salt. I love that it's such a healthy recipe, so easy, and so delicious! It made 16 - 4" pancakes, enough for freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These are awesome. I will be making up a huge batch of the dry ingredients so I have a mix availabe when I want panacakes/waffles. Just add buttermilk and egg and VIOLA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
We have made these pancakes several times, often tweaking it a bit but they always turn out great. These modifications have worked well for us: adding 1/2 teaspoon of salt, reducing the buttermilk to 1 3/4 cup (using sour milk is alright, but not quite as amazing), and adding 1/4 cup oil. Replacing brown sugar with white sugar is fine. We find that adding vanilla can distract from the flavor of the grains. Even though we think this recipe is better with our modifications, it still gets 5 stars because it's a flexible recipe and a terrific food concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris &  Leela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Really good! I didn't have cornmeal, so I substituted wheat bran for the amount of cornmeal. I also didn't have buttermilk and was running low on milk as well, but I did have a cup of cottage cheese in my fridge that I wanted to use up. So I mashed up the cottage cheese and substituted 1 cup of the buttermilk with that, and the other cup of buttermilk I substituted with 1 cup of milk that I soured with lemon juice. I also added some vanilla and cinnamon for a little extra flavor. Because I used the cottage cheese, I had no problem with the batter being thin, it ended up being pretty thick. I had to use a little water to thin it down. The pancakes cooked up beautifully. I topped them with the "Cinnamon Apple Syrup" recipe found on this website. Delicious! I'm excited to buy cornmeal and try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Healthy AND tasty - a winning combination. Just remember to let the batter sit for a few minutes. It will thicken and cook up beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These were so good. I halved the recipe, but then messed up & only halved the ww flour. I even added in Wheat Germ. So I played around with the buttermilk til it looked right. My husband is a diabetic so I only added 2 t of my homemade brown sugar splenda blend. We ate it with sugar free syrup, walnuts & blueberries. Good for you & delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
These were fabulous! I was very skeptical about the corn meal, but it added just a touch of sweetness and great texture. Even our pickiest kids, who only like the light n fluffy pancakes, devoured these. We did add a touch of vanilla to the mix and added more liquid to make the batter a little thinner. We used the powdered buttermilk stuff, and will hopefully have the real deal on-hand next time. Also ground the oatmeal in a mini processor, which helped hide the whole grains from the kids. Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Everyone liked these, even the kids and I feel good that they are so healthy. I added some vanilla and let them sit to thicken like reviews suggested. In the second batch, I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 water and they turned out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States