Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
These had a really nice flavor. I found them a little difficult to cook, though. I had to grease my pan more than I'm used to because they tended to stick, even to my amazing, expensive, non-stick pan! They also got brown really fast and didn't set up as quickly in the middle, so I had to turn the temperature down quite a bit and cook them much longer. I made a few changes to the original recipe. I didn't have any cornmeal, so I substituted wheat germ. I also didn't have any buttermilk, so I used lemon juice and milk. I added some cinnamon and vanilla for a little extra flavor. I think next time I will leave some of the sugar out of it, because the pancake was pretty sweet. All in all this is a very nice base recipe. I think with a little more tweaking it could be close to perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
'Not sure if I can add anything to what's already been written, but I agree that this is a very good pancake--even if you don't add flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
As a parent of two very picky eaters I have been searching high and low for a HEALTHY pancake recipe. I've tried 3 other recipes with no luck. I served these for Valentines Day breakfast and held my breath. They BOTH LIKE IT! One of them ate FOUR! I doubled the recipe and added another 1/2 cup oats to the batter. I allowed it to sit for 20 minutes while I cleaned the kitchen and made a cake. It wasn't a thick batter like I was used to but it cooked up nicely. Next time I plan to add some vanilla and I want to try making it the night before and putting it in the fridge to soak overnight. We also topped it with apple butter and syrup for something different and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I usually don't write reviews but I had to on this one. With slight modifications - this was fantastic! I skipped the cornmeal and increased rolled oats to 1 cup (was a bit too thick so I might do 3/4 cup next time). I also substituted 5 tbsp of honey for br sugar (I might do 4 next time, although 5 was good too). These were fantastic. So filling and sooo good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is my first review, but I had to write it because these are great pancakes! I have tried oodles of pancake recipes, but this one is so perfect because it tastes great AND is healthier. It was so easy to make the batter and I love that it uses whole wheat flour, flaxseed, and NO butter. I made it exactly as the recipe states. Next time I will try it with the cinnamon apple syrup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Really good! I didn't have cornmeal, so I substituted wheat bran for the amount of cornmeal. I also didn't have buttermilk and was running low on milk as well, but I did have a cup of cottage cheese in my fridge that I wanted to use up. So I mashed up the cottage cheese and substituted 1 cup of the buttermilk with that, and the other cup of buttermilk I substituted with 1 cup of milk that I soured with lemon juice. I also added some vanilla and cinnamon for a little extra flavor. Because I used the cottage cheese, I had no problem with the batter being thin, it ended up being pretty thick. I had to use a little water to thin it down. The pancakes cooked up beautifully. I topped them with the "Cinnamon Apple Syrup" recipe found on this website. Delicious! I'm excited to buy cornmeal and try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
These have a wonderful healthy but delicious flavor. I didn't have any flaxseed meal but I did sub in 3 Tbs. wheat germ. Batter is a bit thin, even after I let it sit for over 5 minutes, but I tend to like SUPER thick pancakes, so next time I can just adjust some things. Next time might add in a splash of vanilla as well. Great, tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
These were a hit in my home! I won't ever be making plain old white flour pancakes again! I used 2% milk and added blueberries and a pinch of salt, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These were so good. I halved the recipe, but then messed up & only halved the ww flour. I even added in Wheat Germ. So I played around with the buttermilk til it looked right. My husband is a diabetic so I only added 2 t of my homemade brown sugar splenda blend. We ate it with sugar free syrup, walnuts & blueberries. Good for you & delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Really good! I scaled down the ingredients for one portion (I'm a student and I live by myself :P) and improvised a little with what I had: 1/4 cup whole wheat flour 1/4 cup rolled oats 1/4 tsp baking powder 1/8 tsp baking soda 1/4 egg, beaten 1/2 cup chocolate soy milk I had those with bananas, apples and (shh!) a little bit of chocolate syrup. Mmmm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States