Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutely the best I've had!!! I havn't really read any of the comments below but I don't see a reason to customize this recipe. It's wonderful finding a whole wheat pancake recipe that actually tastes good. On top of the whole wheat goodness you don't have to feed your family w/all the junk that goes along w/store bought pancake mix such as aluminum ect.!!! Excellent! Healthier and tasty! It doesn't get better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I usually like whole grain pancakes, but did not care for these. They were flat and bland. I made as instructed and after trying one, we tried adding blueberries to add some flavor, but they still weren't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Nice, fluffy, hearty pancakes. I subbed soymilk/apple cider vinegar for the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These are awesome. I will be making up a huge batch of the dry ingredients so I have a mix availabe when I want panacakes/waffles. Just add buttermilk and egg and VIOLA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
These were fabulous! I was very skeptical about the corn meal, but it added just a touch of sweetness and great texture. Even our pickiest kids, who only like the light n fluffy pancakes, devoured these. We did add a touch of vanilla to the mix and added more liquid to make the batter a little thinner. We used the powdered buttermilk stuff, and will hopefully have the real deal on-hand next time. Also ground the oatmeal in a mini processor, which helped hide the whole grains from the kids. Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These pancakes are excellent. I changed the recipe by omitting the cornmeal (my kids don't like the grittiness) and instead of whole wheat flour, I used a combination of barley flour, whole wheat pastry flour, amaranth flour, spelt flour and brown rice flour. My mix is equal portions of each of the flours. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These pancakes are light and fluffy, very unexpexted texture for a whole grain pancake. Followed others advise and let the batter sit for a short time to let the whole grains expand and make it less runny. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
We have made these pancakes several times, often tweaking it a bit but they always turn out great. These modifications have worked well for us: adding 1/2 teaspoon of salt, reducing the buttermilk to 1 3/4 cup (using sour milk is alright, but not quite as amazing), and adding 1/4 cup oil. Replacing brown sugar with white sugar is fine. We find that adding vanilla can distract from the flavor of the grains. Even though we think this recipe is better with our modifications, it still gets 5 stars because it's a flexible recipe and a terrific food concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris &  Leela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I've made them 3 times in the last month for company - everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
As much as I wanted to like these, they were just awful! Batter was way too thin and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States