Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious! I added a little salt and we didn't have buttermilk and I was too lazy to make any so I used 1 1/2 cup of milk and a 4 oz vanilla yogurt container. These were fantastic - even my health-averse husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeyND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
YUMMMMMMY. Let me start by saying I made these twice in one week. Wow. Soo good. I love that there is only whole wheat flour in this recipe and no white flour. Love the cornmeal and oats. The first time I made this, I planned on topping my pancakes with syrup and lots of toppings (berries, nuts, etc.), but I just ate it with syrup (sugar free) and completely forgot about the toppings because they were that good. I didn't change a thing to the existing ingredients (except to triple it because I wanted to make more and have it last for 2 days), but I did add a few things to mine: a few tablespoons of applesauce (there is no oil in this recipe which I liked, but there needs to be some oil substitute), and 3 tsp of vanilla, a dash of salt, and some cinnamon (to taste). Loved loved loved it. Cannot say enough good things about it. A very healthy, filling, and tasty breakfast! Oh and I agree with other reviewers that letting the batter sit after mixing is key. After stirring I let it rest for approx 15 minutes and it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe! It is now our favorite pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
These were surprisingly delicious. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
These were pretty good. I started off making the recipe exactly as written, but coated the bottom of my cast iron skillet with bacon grease (instead of nonstick spray)before cooking to add some extra flavor. The batter will thicken up nicely if you let it set for a few minutes before cooking, as others have stated. I cooked a couple and then tasted, and decided to add 1/4 tsp. of salt, even though I'm not usually much of a salt person. I also tossed in about 1/4 c. of roughly chopped pecans. The pancakes were beautifully brown and, served with butter and syrup, tasted great too. The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 is the cornmeal - the texture of it does come through when eating, but I still enjoyed my meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is just the hearty, healthy recipe I was looking for. With the substitution of stevia in place of sugar, you have all natural ingredients that are all good for you. I have mixed the dry ingedients and put them in a container to use as my pancake mix --- no more store bought. Let the batter sit 10 minutes to thicken up and cook on a hot griddle for light, fluffy, wholesome pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Good pancakes! I made them exactly as the recipe stated and didn't have any problems. They were tasty and thick. Even my picky toddler ate a big pancake and asked for a second!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutely the best I've had!!! I havn't really read any of the comments below but I don't see a reason to customize this recipe. It's wonderful finding a whole wheat pancake recipe that actually tastes good. On top of the whole wheat goodness you don't have to feed your family w/all the junk that goes along w/store bought pancake mix such as aluminum ect.!!! Excellent! Healthier and tasty! It doesn't get better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I usually like whole grain pancakes, but did not care for these. They were flat and bland. I made as instructed and after trying one, we tried adding blueberries to add some flavor, but they still weren't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Nice, fluffy, hearty pancakes. I subbed soymilk/apple cider vinegar for the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These are awesome. I will be making up a huge batch of the dry ingredients so I have a mix availabe when I want panacakes/waffles. Just add buttermilk and egg and VIOLA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States