Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is a good base for a healthier pancake. Due to dietary restrictions, I omitted the brown sugar altogether as well as the corn meal and added an extra 1/4 C. whole wheat flour instead. I thought the rolled oats needed to soak up some batter as it was very runny, but even with soaking half the day it was still super runny. Next time I will use 1 1/2 C. buttermilk instead. I was still able to use the batter it just made for thinner pancakes, but the taste was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These are fantastic! My daughter is allergic to dairy, so we always replace the buttermilk with almond milk or coconut milk. They are delectable every time! We usually make homemade fruit "syrup" to go on top, with apples or strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
My kids LOVED this. I did add about an 1/8 cup more flour and an extra tablespoon of sugar. We put mini chocolate chips in some and blueberries in some and they really turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Wow, great consistency and taste. Followed recipe exactly, but used soy milk soured with lemon juice and added it a little salt- 1/2 tsp. Great just with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These were horrible! I dont know what happened but I have attempted these twice now anticipating wonderful pancakes and they never cooked through and never bubbled much like normal cakes. When they were completely browned and completely flat I took them off (since they just couldnt sit and cook any longer) and there was still batter seeping through the blueberry cracks and when I cut into them, the insides were still raw and gooey. The only thing I did differently is that I added 3 tablespoons of applesauce instead of the brown sugar and I sprinkled on some blueberries after about a minute of cooking. Why this happened? I dont know! I make pancakes all the time. Any ideas on why this would be? I am bummed they didnt turn out twice now-kids waiting at table hungry and no breakfast resorting in cereal or oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Delicious! I added a dash of vanilla and about 1/3 cup of additional whole wheat flour to thicken up the batter as other reviews recommended and it turned they turned out beautifully :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This recipy is amazing. I've tried other recepies before and I never had such delicious pancakes. I did some minor modifications, instead of butter milk I used 2% reduced fat milk and added a bit of vanilla extract and they turnedout great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Excellent pancakes and especially fluffy if the batter rests for 10 min before cooking. I only put 1 TB brown sugar and added 1/4 C apple sauce and they still tasted very sweet to me. I also threw in a scoop of vanilla flavored protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Excellent. Used whole wheat pastry flour and 1.5 cups of soymilk instead of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Excellent! I ground the oats to make the batter thicker and since we are dairy free, I subbed vanilla coconut milk... DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States