Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Followed the recipe except for I used plain Splenda instead of the sugar blend and I substituted 1 cup of oats for a cup of the whole wheat flour and these came out perfect!!! I cannot believe how healthy they are! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Very Good!I used 1/2 spelt flour and 1/2 stone ground flour for a little more fiber. I only had 3 large bananas but it still turned out great. I only had splenda brown sugar blend and it worked beautifully. Finally somerthing I can give my 6 yr old, that is tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I have made SEVERAL banana bread and muffin recipes, and this is by far the best! I must admit it tasted even better after cooling. I substituted organic vanilla yogurt for sour cream, and organic brown sugar instead of splenda. I also (being a chocoholic added a handful of chocolate chips and walnuts) My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I was surprised how good this bread was. It is perfect for Phase II & III of the South Beach Diet. I used a whole egg and vanilla non-fat yogurt instead of the sour cream. Even without any added oil, this is very moist. This will be a well-used recipe in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Very good! I used vanilla yogurt in place of the sour cream, and added raisins. My kids had no idea how healthy they were. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I used regular cane sugar and VERY ripe bananas and it turned out wonderful! I love the flax and wheat taste! This is my husbands new favorite banana recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I love banana bread (and bread in general!) but I was disappointed in this recipe. It had way too much flaxseed, so you don't really taste the five bananas that you've added. Also, it was too sweet in the artificial-sweetener way. I didn't add much Splenda, instead substituting sugar, but it's still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Wow! This is a great recipe. I used the other reviewers ideas for real sugar (I used brown sugar) and whole wheat pastry flour (this is wonderful stuff). I added vanilla and walnuts. I went with 55 minutes and then kept an eye on it. This one will be made many times! To the person who said too much flaxseed - Use ground flaxseed. Big difference!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Merryfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was very good. I had some flax seed that I didn't know what to do with, so I followed another reviewer's suggestion and ground it up in place of the flax seed meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
The kids loved these made into mini muffins. A HIT with eveyone. Great way to get the flax into the little ones diet. For a treat, try adding peanut butter/choc.chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States