Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Followed the recipe except for I used plain Splenda instead of the sugar blend and I substituted 1 cup of oats for a cup of the whole wheat flour and these came out perfect!!! I cannot believe how healthy they are! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Very Good!I used 1/2 spelt flour and 1/2 stone ground flour for a little more fiber. I only had 3 large bananas but it still turned out great. I only had splenda brown sugar blend and it worked beautifully. Finally somerthing I can give my 6 yr old, that is tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I have made SEVERAL banana bread and muffin recipes, and this is by far the best! I must admit it tasted even better after cooling. I substituted organic vanilla yogurt for sour cream, and organic brown sugar instead of splenda. I also (being a chocoholic added a handful of chocolate chips and walnuts) My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I was surprised how good this bread was. It is perfect for Phase II & III of the South Beach Diet. I used a whole egg and vanilla non-fat yogurt instead of the sour cream. Even without any added oil, this is very moist. This will be a well-used recipe in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Very good! I used vanilla yogurt in place of the sour cream, and added raisins. My kids had no idea how healthy they were. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I used regular cane sugar and VERY ripe bananas and it turned out wonderful! I love the flax and wheat taste! This is my husbands new favorite banana recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I love banana bread (and bread in general!) but I was disappointed in this recipe. It had way too much flaxseed, so you don't really taste the five bananas that you've added. Also, it was too sweet in the artificial-sweetener way. I didn't add much Splenda, instead substituting sugar, but it's still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Wow! This is a great recipe. I used the other reviewers ideas for real sugar (I used brown sugar) and whole wheat pastry flour (this is wonderful stuff). I added vanilla and walnuts. I went with 55 minutes and then kept an eye on it. This one will be made many times! To the person who said too much flaxseed - Use ground flaxseed. Big difference!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Merryfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was very good. I had some flax seed that I didn't know what to do with, so I followed another reviewer's suggestion and ground it up in place of the flax seed meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
The kids loved these made into mini muffins. A HIT with eveyone. Great way to get the flax into the little ones diet. For a treat, try adding peanut butter/choc.chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States