Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this recipe and angiehdavis' version of the recipe. The original had a strong banana flavor (I used three large bananas) it was good but angiehdavis' version was a lot more moist with less banana taste (this version also took longer to bake and next time I would double the cinnamon). Both versions were very heavy, and this is why i rated it 4 stars. Next time I will use the original recipe and add baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg and maybe a 1/2 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
What a great recipe! I made it and my 6 year old daughter love it so much. It is a healthy way to enjoy a Holiday Season. Thank you, Arijana and Dajana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arijana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuzla, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I appreciate a healthy alternative to the other sugar filled ,fat filled, bread recipes. This is really good,considering it is really good for you! Thanks for submitting whole grain healthy banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Wow! I really liked this! I used regular sugar, soy milk, the white of one egg, and half the salt, and it still turned out great. It's not a light bread, but very substantial. Nice to bite and wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminivirgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
WOW! I am not renowned for my baking ability, yet these muffins turned out BEAUTIFULLY. I even made substitutions which I am rarely brave enough to do! I used brown sugar instead of splenda (because I don't like the fake supersweet aftertaste), nonfat vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream, and substituted 1/2 c. wheat bran for 1/2 c of the ww flour. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg as recommended by another reviewer (thanks!) and added 1/2 c. each chopped pecans and chocolate chips. They turned out stunningly! They were quickly gobbled down. I made 18 medium-sized muffins and baked them in silicone pans, so had to keep them in 5-10 minutes longer than expected (about 30m). They came to 191 calories a piece with my changes, including 6.2 grams of fat (from the pecans, chocolate and flax mostly), 32.6 g carbs (including 17 g sugar and 5 g fibre), and 4.5 g protein per muffin... if you left out the choc chips, -35.5 calories; no pecans = -22.8 calories; splenda = -32.3 calories (per muffin). So you could get 'em down to about 100 calories each, but they wouldn't taste as good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This bread was pretty good. I was a little skeptical because the mixture seemed dry due to all the milled flaxseed. After an extra spoonful of sour cream it seemed ok. I wrapped it and let it sit overnight before slicing into it. My one year old loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I've been looking for a healthy banana bread for a while and this one was good and still had a strong banana flavor. I only substituted brown sugar for the splenda and one egg for the egg white, and it was tasty and filling. A toasted slice with a little cream cheese on the top was a handy traveling breakfast that held me over for three hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made a lot of changes based on what I had available, and these turned out excellent--super moist & full of flavor. Here's what I did: --substituted 1/2c. maple syrup for splenda/sugar --substituted 1/2 c. peach keifer for sour cream & milk --substituted 1/2c. hemp seeds for flaxseed (for someone who doesn't like this the crunchy hemp I would rec. walnut pieces). --substitute 2/3 c. old fashioned oats for for 2/3 of the whole wheat flour --added 1tsp. cinnamon and 1tsp. vanilla --used 1 whole egg instead of eggwhites --baked in toaster over (to avoid heating my already hot house during a souther CA summer!) in muffin tins, 30 mins each tin (might take less time in regular oven) --yield: 16 muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
i don't like rating a recipe that i have altered, but it was so fantastic i just have to comment. i think the recipe would be great on it's own, but b/c of what i did and did not have I: used brown sugar instead of splenda, used 3 bananas and 1 c applesauce, added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, i cut back 1/4 c. flour and added 1 c oats, 1/2 c walnuts, sprinkled w/ oats. I made 4 mini loaves. it was a dark pan so I baked for 25 min. perfect. sooo yummy especially for such a healthy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Delicious - I added about one teaspoon cinnamon to the dry ingredients and the kids devoured it by the pool. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States