Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I am a beginner when it comes to cooking and this was so easy and delicious. I used to make banana bread from the box and this tasted better and was completely healthy. I actually made muffins and they were gobbled up in 3 days! This recipe is a keeper. The only change I made was I used a natural sweetener instead of Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I was very excited to try this recipe. Mine was not cooked on the bottom of the loaf, even though I followed all the directions. I will try to make this again usuing two loaf pans insted. The flavor was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I've used it a couple of times, and each time, I alter* it a slight bit based on the ingredients that are available to me, but each time the bread turns out delicious. Thank you for sharing! * As others have noted as well: equal parts Brown Sugar Splenda. * Equal parts butter low-fat sour cream * Whole egg egg whites * 1/4 cup oats flax seed meal (remaining 1/2 cup of flax seed is subbed by whole wheat flour) * Throw in a good mixture of (crushed) white macadamia nuts, pecans, and walnuts. * Throw in at the end a good measure of both white and dark chocolate chips. * AND LASTLY, to top it off: Spread Nutella over to taste - whilst serving. Probably not so healthy anymore, huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was awesome! Added the teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, used the whole egg, reduced the flour to 3/4 and added 1 cup of oats. Threw in a handful of choc chips and pecans. May put in applesauce instead of sourcream next time to reduce the fat. Also added 2 scoops of Greens & Whey protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These were fabulous. Im so impressed such a healthy reciope tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was awesome !! I added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts and replaced the sour cream with fat free greek yogurt. My family loved it and I brought it to work and everyone that tried said they loved it. Nice and moist....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Not bad! I like not adding butter, oil, egg yokes or sugar. It's very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
What a great recipe! I did as others suggested ( I am not a big fan of cooking with Splenda either) and used brown sugar. That was all I changed. This is a heavy, moist bread, which I love. My 11-year-old likes it (bot is not crazy about it) so that says something too. I feel like I am having dessert! Thanks Eileen for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
used 1 egg, instead of egg whites (2tsp.) non fat greek yogurt & non fat sour cream lots of banana's, whole wheat pastry flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is a great, HEALTHY alternative to my mom's recipe (which is still my favorite, but this is a close second). I really liked the nutty flavor from the flax meal and wheat flour. It was very lumpy and "rough" looking when I spread it in the pan - not like a regular bread batter. Watch the time carefully - I used a dark pan and ended up decreasing the baking time by 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States