Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
My rating is really a 2.5. I made mine following the recipe exactly. Are they as good as regular banana bread? Of course not, they're low fat, low sugar! But they are edible and they did a good job curing my "baked goods craving" without ruining my healthy eating habits. They are definitely not great as is, but this recipe is something I can work with. Next time I will add some cinnamon and vanilla extract...which should help enhance the flavor without altering the sugar/calories/fat, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slattekm
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
The only substitutions I made were that I used organic cane sugar instead of Splenda, used all white flour instead of wheat simply because that's what we had, and used unsweetened almond milk in place of skim milk. Baked at for just over an hour, pulling it out about 7 minutes early because the top was browning. Very moist and delicious. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slattekm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I think this turned out pretty good. I'm glad I checked it when I did, as if I had let it cook for an hour and ten minutes, I think it would have been a brick. As it is, 45 minutes made it a little hard around the edges. I used organic cane sugar instead of splenda because I don't like the artificial sweetners, and I also used vanilla soymilk instead of milk because that's what I had. After reading some other reviews I reduced the amount of bananas to three, and I think that was a good choice. If it makes a difference, mine were frozen, very ripe bananas. I think the flax meal gives it a lovely texture and a bit of natural, earthy sweetness as well. I also threw in about 1/2-3/4 of a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips because, why not?! I will definitely make this again! I'm only giving it a four because the cooking time was way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
So good!! I also added cinnamon, nutmeg, applesauce and substituted brown sugar for splenda as I don't like using artificial sweetener, however the idea was incredible!! Definitely a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Texture was like cake batter. Tasted sweet but looked like a cement brick. I recommend using half the flax seeds and substitute 1/2 half wheat and white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Great recipe! I use 1/4 cup of applesauce instead of the sour cream. Healthier and it tasted just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is OK, probably wouldn't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
YUMMY!! I didn't alter this recipe one bit! Its perfect and LOW FAT/CALORIES! This bread is so moist and dense, like a regular heavenly piece of banana bread with out all the added calories and lots more fiber! You won't be disappointed with this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferandRichmond Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Delish! I have altered this combining tips from other cooks and what I have in my kitchen. So moist and addicting, its better than ANY banana bread. You feel better after eating it than the regular white flour, sugar loaded stuff I see. I never use splenda or egg whites- usually maple syrup and 1 egg. Just BOUGHT browning bananas so I can make it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I substituted plain nonfat yogurt for sour cream, and a cup of protein powder for a cup of the whole wheat flour. On my second attempt, I made this into 12 muffins. Through much trial and error I eventually got a great muffin, but had to make a lot of changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States