Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
i don't like rating a recipe that i have altered, but it was so fantastic i just have to comment. i think the recipe would be great on it's own, but b/c of what i did and did not have I: used brown sugar instead of splenda, used 3 bananas and 1 c applesauce, added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, i cut back 1/4 c. flour and added 1 c oats, 1/2 c walnuts, sprinkled w/ oats. I made 4 mini loaves. it was a dark pan so I baked for 25 min. perfect. sooo yummy especially for such a healthy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Delicious healthy banana bread. I followed others recomendations by using brown sugar instead of the splenda (I don't like using artificial sweetners), 5 bananas instead of 3, 1/2c of applesauce, 1 tsp. of cinnamon, 1/2tsp nutmeg and cut 1/4c of flour and added 1c. oats. I'm always looking for healthier versions of our family favorites and this is now one of them. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
this was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
WOW! I am not renowned for my baking ability, yet these muffins turned out BEAUTIFULLY. I even made substitutions which I am rarely brave enough to do! I used brown sugar instead of splenda (because I don't like the fake supersweet aftertaste), nonfat vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream, and substituted 1/2 c. wheat bran for 1/2 c of the ww flour. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg as recommended by another reviewer (thanks!) and added 1/2 c. each chopped pecans and chocolate chips. They turned out stunningly! They were quickly gobbled down. I made 18 medium-sized muffins and baked them in silicone pans, so had to keep them in 5-10 minutes longer than expected (about 30m). They came to 191 calories a piece with my changes, including 6.2 grams of fat (from the pecans, chocolate and flax mostly), 32.6 g carbs (including 17 g sugar and 5 g fibre), and 4.5 g protein per muffin... if you left out the choc chips, -35.5 calories; no pecans = -22.8 calories; splenda = -32.3 calories (per muffin). So you could get 'em down to about 100 calories each, but they wouldn't taste as good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made a lot of changes based on what I had available, and these turned out excellent--super moist & full of flavor. Here's what I did: --substituted 1/2c. maple syrup for splenda/sugar --substituted 1/2 c. peach keifer for sour cream & milk --substituted 1/2c. hemp seeds for flaxseed (for someone who doesn't like this the crunchy hemp I would rec. walnut pieces). --substitute 2/3 c. old fashioned oats for for 2/3 of the whole wheat flour --added 1tsp. cinnamon and 1tsp. vanilla --used 1 whole egg instead of eggwhites --baked in toaster over (to avoid heating my already hot house during a souther CA summer!) in muffin tins, 30 mins each tin (might take less time in regular oven) --yield: 16 muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I have played around with this recipe and now use golden flaxseed and whole wheat pastry flour which makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I had to make a couple of adjustments, first I didn't have flaxseed so I used more flour I also used stone ground whole wheat flour. I think it came out great because of the flour I used it had an interesting texture that my husband loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I really liked this recipe, however I did alter it some because of what I had on hand and preference. I used dark brown sugar instead of splenda and vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. Plus, I threw in a tablspoon or two or whole wheat germ. It turned out wonderfully. It will make a great quick breakfast on days when I'm short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I know that the changes I made make this more fattening but I had to share because this turned out so yummy. I used butter instead of sour cream and one whole egg. At least the flax and whole wheat organic flour I used makes me feel a bit better about cheating. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Wow! I really liked this! I used regular sugar, soy milk, the white of one egg, and half the salt, and it still turned out great. It's not a light bread, but very substantial. Nice to bite and wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminivirgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States