Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I am a beginner when it comes to cooking and this was so easy and delicious. I used to make banana bread from the box and this tasted better and was completely healthy. I actually made muffins and they were gobbled up in 3 days! This recipe is a keeper. The only change I made was I used a natural sweetener instead of Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I was very excited to try this recipe. Mine was not cooked on the bottom of the loaf, even though I followed all the directions. I will try to make this again usuing two loaf pans insted. The flavor was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I've used it a couple of times, and each time, I alter* it a slight bit based on the ingredients that are available to me, but each time the bread turns out delicious. Thank you for sharing! * As others have noted as well: equal parts Brown Sugar Splenda. * Equal parts butter low-fat sour cream * Whole egg egg whites * 1/4 cup oats flax seed meal (remaining 1/2 cup of flax seed is subbed by whole wheat flour) * Throw in a good mixture of (crushed) white macadamia nuts, pecans, and walnuts. * Throw in at the end a good measure of both white and dark chocolate chips. * AND LASTLY, to top it off: Spread Nutella over to taste - whilst serving. Probably not so healthy anymore, huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was awesome! Added the teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, used the whole egg, reduced the flour to 3/4 and added 1 cup of oats. Threw in a handful of choc chips and pecans. May put in applesauce instead of sourcream next time to reduce the fat. Also added 2 scoops of Greens & Whey protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These were fabulous. Im so impressed such a healthy reciope tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was awesome !! I added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts and replaced the sour cream with fat free greek yogurt. My family loved it and I brought it to work and everyone that tried said they loved it. Nice and moist....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Not bad! I like not adding butter, oil, egg yokes or sugar. It's very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
What a great recipe! I did as others suggested ( I am not a big fan of cooking with Splenda either) and used brown sugar. That was all I changed. This is a heavy, moist bread, which I love. My 11-year-old likes it (bot is not crazy about it) so that says something too. I feel like I am having dessert! Thanks Eileen for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
used 1 egg, instead of egg whites (2tsp.) non fat greek yogurt & non fat sour cream lots of banana's, whole wheat pastry flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is a great, HEALTHY alternative to my mom's recipe (which is still my favorite, but this is a close second). I really liked the nutty flavor from the flax meal and wheat flour. It was very lumpy and "rough" looking when I spread it in the pan - not like a regular bread batter. Watch the time carefully - I used a dark pan and ended up decreasing the baking time by 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States