Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I didn't have walnuts, but I did have pecans (I live in Texas - they're everywhere) so I used them instead. After reading the other reviews, I decided to add another egg and more oil to make the batter a little less dry. My cookies turned out great!! Even my son who hates "healthy" recipes commented on how good they were. I'm already planning my next batch! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
**second batch note** i made a double batch and froze the dough in large cookie-sized balls by placing plastic wrap over a cookie sheet, allowing them to freeze and then placing them into a ziplock. then all week, i took a few out at a time, baked them at 350 for 10 minutes, gave them a gentle smush as i took them out of the oven to flatten them a bit and let them cool completely on the pan. PERFECTION! NO CRUMBLING AND MY 7 YR OLD DAUGHTER GOBBLES THEM! Pretty dang good. I had to make a few changes, like raisins instead of the dried cherries, but if you had them the cherries would have given a nice pop of flavor (I suppose you could try Craisins or even the cherry flavored Craisins as an alternative too). I added a small gala apple to the food processor (minus stem and seeds) for a little extra fruit content, and my cookies came out very moist (a bit crumbly like many other comments). I think I might add another egg next time? I love the walnuts being ground up. My daughters chomped away on an omega3 & 6 rich, high fiber snack and never once caught on to my diabolical plan to give them something healthy. Possibly my new favorite cookie recipe. I wonder how coconut oil would do instead of the canola?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Loved these cookies! I made a few changes based on the other reviews. I used Honey instead of Agave. 2 eggs. Left out the cinnamon. Used natural organic peanut butter instead of almond butter. Left out the dry cherries. And used Coconut oil instead of canola oil. My husband ate 6 and my kids devoured them after school!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by E^3
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I love these cookies! The only thing I changed in this recipe was omitting the chocolate chips. Honestly, I don't think it needs them but the chocoholics among us will disagree. I was curious what the "flattening" does, so I left one cookie unflattened as my control. The unflattened cookie tasted delicious as well, but the flat versions travel well. I baked half of the batch right away and put the other half in the fridge and baked them up a few days later. I couldn't save these just for breakfast; I ate them all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E^3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Awesome cookies! I didn't have any walnuts so I subbed whole wheat flour, and also subbed honey for the agave. Very versitle recipe, thanks so much, we'll be using this one often:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These are great. I made minimal changes: left some of the walnuts chunky, reduced the oatmeal as recipe author suggested, and left out the dried cherries. My batter was very moist and sticky. I slightly underbaked and mashed as recommended. Texture is great. Next time I will try bananas/applesauce in place of some/all the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Yummy! We did substitute a few things (whole wheat flour with Almond Flour), (Almond butter with Peanut Butter), (canola oil with butter), and (agave & brown sugar with raw honey). The kids all love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Love this recipe! I wanted to make cookies for my 3 year old that were healthy and tasty, and these passed with flying colors. I subbed almonds for the walnuts, and peanut butter for the almond butter. I also used date sugar in place of brown sugar, apple butter instead of oil, and omitted the dried fruit because my son doesn't like it. The final results are a moist, tasty cookie with a slight nutty flavor and a nice texture. My kiddo ate 3 right off the bat, so we have a winner. I'll definitely make these again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Used applesauce instead of the oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Love this recipe! My 3 year old loves it too! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States