Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Awesome cookies! I didn't have any walnuts so I subbed whole wheat flour, and also subbed honey for the agave. Very versitle recipe, thanks so much, we'll be using this one often:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Thanks for a great recipe. These are delicious and nutritious. Because I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand I needed to make some subsitutions. I used almonds instead of walnuts, peanut butter instead of almond butter, ommitted the cinnamon, used 1/4 c brown sugar and 1/8 c honey (instead of the agave). I used 1 1/2 c raisins instead of the cherries and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I had to make a few substitutions, but these are just awesome. I used honey instead of agave nectar, applesauce instead of oil, and peanut butter instead of almond butter. I'm sure they would be even better with no substitutions, but this was a winner with my husband and my 17 month old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These were delicious! Thank you for a healthier alternative. My cookie mixture before being baked was not only thick, but very crumbly. I followed instructions and patted them with the spatula when they were just out of the oven, and that did the trick! They turned out great, and I will make these again because I always have these ingedients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These were pretty good. I didnt have the Agave nectar so I used honey like in a previous review. I also wasnt crazy about the chocolate chips in it. That just kind of defeats the purpose as a breakfast item. But I will try it again and substitute raisins for the chocolate chips and maybe leave some of the walnuts chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These turned out really well, even when I skipped the sugar and used all honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This recipe is amazingly delicious! I will be making these all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
These taste really good, and made my house smell AMAZING! My only problem is that mine turned out sort of crumbly--they're not staying together very well. I did like another review suggested and smashed them down a little when they came out of the oven, and it helped to let them cool on the cookie sheet for a little bit, but they're still crumbly. Don't know where I went wrong, but they still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I didn't have walnuts, but I did have pecans (I live in Texas - they're everywhere) so I used them instead. After reading the other reviews, I decided to add another egg and more oil to make the batter a little less dry. My cookies turned out great!! Even my son who hates "healthy" recipes commented on how good they were. I'm already planning my next batch! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
**second batch note** i made a double batch and froze the dough in large cookie-sized balls by placing plastic wrap over a cookie sheet, allowing them to freeze and then placing them into a ziplock. then all week, i took a few out at a time, baked them at 350 for 10 minutes, gave them a gentle smush as i took them out of the oven to flatten them a bit and let them cool completely on the pan. PERFECTION! NO CRUMBLING AND MY 7 YR OLD DAUGHTER GOBBLES THEM! Pretty dang good. I had to make a few changes, like raisins instead of the dried cherries, but if you had them the cherries would have given a nice pop of flavor (I suppose you could try Craisins or even the cherry flavored Craisins as an alternative too). I added a small gala apple to the food processor (minus stem and seeds) for a little extra fruit content, and my cookies came out very moist (a bit crumbly like many other comments). I think I might add another egg next time? I love the walnuts being ground up. My daughters chomped away on an omega3 & 6 rich, high fiber snack and never once caught on to my diabolical plan to give them something healthy. Possibly my new favorite cookie recipe. I wonder how coconut oil would do instead of the canola?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States