Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I used apple sauce instead of the oil and honey instead of agave and it turned out great! I'd like to omit the whole wheat flour entirely so I may try a substitution for it next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Stanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Perfect solution to my boring egg breakfast! Also a wonderfully healthy cookie/snack. I just made my first batch and am so happy I did. I only changed the almond butter to peanut butter since I had that. I also left out the cherries. I found that one cup of chocolate chips was a bit much. I had chips in the bottom of my mixing bowl and no more dough. Next time I will use 1/2 cup and try mini chips instead. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. This was exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Yummy.....both my 7 year old and 5 year old loved them, as did my co-workers. I baked them exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I am in love! Now there will never be an excuse to skip breakfast. When it's this delicious and so easy to grab on the go, who'd want to? DO follow the popular advice to press these down after they come out of the oven, for a chewy texture that does not crumble!! I love the versatility of the recipe. I used almonds as my ground nuts, and tahini as my nut butter. I happened to have some tahini in my pantry that needed to be used up, so I saved $ not having to buy some expensive "alternative" nut butter (some say they used peanut butter, but I'm not a big PB fan). As far as drastic changes, the only different thing I did was replace all of the oil with applesauce. There is NO need for ANY oil in these cookies. I also did not have any brown sugar, so I used white sugar and a little molasses. You could make this recipe a million different ways and they'd all be delicious! Use any nut, any nut butter, any dried fruit, use different chips/morsels (white, peanut butter, butterscotch, etc!) THANK YOU IRISMAC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
These are YUMMY! I used tahini (sesame seed paste) in place of peanut butter, coconut oil for the oil part, and raisins instead of cherries. I didn't add the cinnamon. The cookies are soft and delicious. My dough/batter wasn't thick like the recipe said, so I was a bit worried, but they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Photo by Jharmon40
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Fantastic "cookies" especially if you have kids! I did add 2 ripe mashed bananas (which was great because you couldn't even taste them and it added some fresh fruit to the breakfast) and used peanut butter. I added a few extra chocolate chips but wouldn't do that next time...didn't need it! I like to freeze them and have them on hand for a quick breakfast or snack! Great recipe to play with...next time I'm going to try using cinnamon chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
A-MAZING! How clever! What a wonderful way to eat a fantasticly nutritious and delicious treat. Seriously! I may start selling these to preschool parents. My daughter loves flax seeds and is no newbie to whole grains or nuts ground to flour but, I am still thrilled to start the school year slipping these into a time deprived hand! So, I tweaked it a bit. I used chocolate almond butter and used dark chocolate chips. I also omitted cranberries because my four year old won't eat them. Though, I think they would certainly compliment these perfectly. Love, Love, Love these. Quite impressed by the results in the food processor. I have been looking for a great breakfast bar. I happened to have everything on hand which meant that it fit my nutritional requirements I will make these time and again! I am thrilled! You and your sister should get a table at your local farmers market. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These were pretty good, especially considering how healthy they are. They do look much better than the picture. I made 1/2 recipe and got 25 cookies using a standard cookie scoop. The only change I made was using white whole wheat flour and subbing 1/2 the flax meal, I was short, with extra white whole wheat flour. I did not have cherries, so I used dried cranberries. I was also out of almond butter and just used an equal amount of almonds, since it was going to all get ground up anyhow. I used my vitamix blender, to grind the walnuts, and blended the liquid mixture about 2 minutes on speed 10 instead of using a food processor. They are a filling and a very hearty and chocolatey breakfast cookie. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
These are soooo good! I did sub applesauce for oil and added an extra egg. There was no crumbling. My new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
These are great -- I felt like I was eating a cherry pie -- yum my favorite-- I couldn't get them to stay together while making the balls so I just pressed them into a jelly roll pan and baked them that way. Let them cool all day then cut into bars - like granola bars. Worked perfect for me, that's how I'll make them from now on now just to see how the teen likes them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States