Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I was skeptical when I saw that this recipe had flaxseed, whole wheat flour AND oatmeal. It sounded too healthy. However, we tried it and it is delicious. After we ground the walnuts, we poured them into a large bowl. We ground the oatmeal and flax until it was fine (about five minutes), added the baking soda, salt and cinnamon to the processor and pulsed to combine. Poured it all into the large bowl and mixed it together with bittersweet chocolate chips and Craisins. Meanwhile, we creamed the butter (I just couldn't use oil in a cookie recipe, I'm sure it's delicious- but these are cookies) with the brown sugar until light and fluffy. Added in one egg at a time and mixed on medium speed for about 30 seconds (used two eggs). Added the peanut butter (we didn't have enough almond butter on hand) and vanilla to the mixer, and mixed on medium for about a minute. Slowly added the dry ingredients to the mixer (1/3 at a time) until it was all incorporated. The cookie dough looked a little wet, but I left it alone and baked one batch to test (baked for 9 minutes) - Delicious! Thank you for a healthier chocolate chip cookie recipe, that my three-year olds and husband devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lholdren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Syracuse, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
The end result tasted nice but I wouldn't make them again as per the recipe. I had problems with them crumbling and falling apart prior to, and during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These are very good, filling cookies. I followed the directions to a T. I will make again and try to sub out the oil with applesauce. The reason I give it four stars is because they cannot even compare to my grandma's oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (which are totally unhealthy, but unbeatable in flavor). I know I shouldn't compare these two, but if it is called a cookie, it has to hold its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Franca Gioia
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Good recipe. I made a couple of substitutions based on what was in my cabinets; chopped apricots instead of cherries and pecans instead of walnuts. Turned out good. My only criticism is that the chocolate chips were too many. I could have easily used a third or half cup instead of a whole cup and there still would have been plenty. I would also recommend using mini chips instead of regular size chocolate chips because they were so big they kept falling out of the mixture instead of blending into it. I had to keep pushing them into the dough balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
YUM! I threw in a fourth cup of dates instead of the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Loved it and so did the family (children age 2 1/2, 8, 20)! I did take the advice of reviewers and made some substitutions. 2 eggs, applesauce, Peanut butter, no fruit, 1/2 C. of mini choc. chips They are small cookies so packaging 2-3 for a quick take to school/work. Definitely would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised with how tasty these came out. Delicious and healthy! I did substitute raisins for dried cranberries which turned out great. When mixing the dry ingredients into the wet there just wasn't enough moisture and I added a little water to get the job done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Nut allergy substitution: I try not to review recipes when I have changed major ingredients, but it is difficult to find breakfast cookie recipes without peanut/tree nut ingredients. I hope another allergic person might benefit from my experiment. For the walnuts, I substituted 1/2 cup oat flour. For the almond nut butter, I substituted 2 Tbsp. butter and 2 Tbsp. ground chia seeds. Everything else was as written, and the whole family loves them. My seven year old chose these over sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Substituted honey for the agave nectar. The dough was rather crumbly so I had a bit of trouble with it. I still found the taste appealing,and even used the crumbly baked bits as 'granola' over yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States