Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made substitutions as well, peanut butter for the almond butter, honey for the agave, wheat germ instead of flax seed and dried cranberries instead of cherries and they still came out awesome. I'll be making more soon but i think i'll try raisins next time. The only ingredient I'd change is to cut the choc. chips in half, but that's my personal preference...five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These are quite delicious and quite forgiving cookies. I made mine with pecans instead of walnuts and also added dried cranberries. I would eat two for breakfast post-workout and I had to keep a secret stash because the hubs loved them soo much! I've made them twice so far and both times a little different but equally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These cookies are great! I found that processing the walnuts made more of a walnut butter than a flour, so I added the whole wheat flour and flax to the processor and it turned back into the texture of flour. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and the cookies were easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Chewy granola bar and cookie unite! Had to use what was on hand. Sub almonds for walnuts, peanut butter for almond butter and honey for nectar. Added an egg as other reviewers suggested. Yum! Can't wait for kids to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I've made these a couple of times now and they are excellent; a huge hit with everyone who tries them. My only suggestion is to use mini chocolate chips instead of the regular size ones. I thought it made mixing the dough and forming it into balls a little easier. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Marvelous! Here's my substitutions: ground chia seeds for the egg, 1/2 cup each dark chocolate chips and cinnamon chips, applesauce for the oil, honey for the agave, almonds for the walnuts. I was afraid the unsweetened dried cherries would be too harsh for this recipe, but I was happily wrong! True, they are a bit 'shocking' by themselves, but in this recipe, they're marvelous! Also, I made monster sized cookies. I WILL use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I used apple sauce instead of the oil and honey instead of agave and it turned out great! I'd like to omit the whole wheat flour entirely so I may try a substitution for it next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Stanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Perfect solution to my boring egg breakfast! Also a wonderfully healthy cookie/snack. I just made my first batch and am so happy I did. I only changed the almond butter to peanut butter since I had that. I also left out the cherries. I found that one cup of chocolate chips was a bit much. I had chips in the bottom of my mixing bowl and no more dough. Next time I will use 1/2 cup and try mini chips instead. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. This was exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Yummy.....both my 7 year old and 5 year old loved them, as did my co-workers. I baked them exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I am in love! Now there will never be an excuse to skip breakfast. When it's this delicious and so easy to grab on the go, who'd want to? DO follow the popular advice to press these down after they come out of the oven, for a chewy texture that does not crumble!! I love the versatility of the recipe. I used almonds as my ground nuts, and tahini as my nut butter. I happened to have some tahini in my pantry that needed to be used up, so I saved $ not having to buy some expensive "alternative" nut butter (some say they used peanut butter, but I'm not a big PB fan). As far as drastic changes, the only different thing I did was replace all of the oil with applesauce. There is NO need for ANY oil in these cookies. I also did not have any brown sugar, so I used white sugar and a little molasses. You could make this recipe a million different ways and they'd all be delicious! Use any nut, any nut butter, any dried fruit, use different chips/morsels (white, peanut butter, butterscotch, etc!) THANK YOU IRISMAC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States