Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I had to change a couple things due to allergies and healthfulness, but the changes worked ok and it was delicious! My one complaint was the nuts turned to nut butter in my processor and never flour. I left it more "tiny bits" of nuts than proper "flour" so my cookies were a bit looser and easier to fall apart. If my kids love these a lot and ask for them on a regular basis, I may spring for a bag of nut flour at the store instead of trying to grind my own. Not a big deal, though, for an easy make-ahead breakfast that can even be frozen and kept on hand pretty much all the time. My changes: had to use pecans instead of walnuts (allergies); and used applesauce instead of oil (by choice), natural pb instead of almond butter (what I had on hand). Will try with almond or sunflower seed butter when I have the chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNMacKenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Delicious and nutritious! These are easy to make. I did not add the cherries, since I didn't have any on hand. Loved the taste and will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I'm about to be a first time mom and I wanted to have something quick I could grab for breakfast or a snack. These are perfect! I changed up a few things so that they are not just healthy but support lactation as well. First I ground up 1 cup of the oats and left 1/2 cup oats as flakes to reduce the texture a bit. I subbed 2/3 cup brown sugar and a squeeze of honey for the agave. I subbed a snack size unsweetened apple sauce for the oil and used 2 eggs. I used pecans instead of walnuts, grinding most but leaving some a bit more chunky. I used crasins instead of cherries and carob chips instead of chocolate chips, 3/4 cup of each. I added a 1/4 cup whey isolate to up the protein even more and 1/4 cup debittered brewers yeast to make them lactation friendly. The yeast gives them a bit of an aftertaste so once my milk comes in I think I would cut it out. Cooking for 9 min and letting them cool on the pan for 5 min and then the rest of the way on a rack leaves them nice and chewy. I popped these in the freezer and heat for 20sec in microwave when ready to eat. Perfect grab and go breakfast/snack with tons of fiber and protein! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I was skeptical when I saw that this recipe had flaxseed, whole wheat flour AND oatmeal. It sounded too healthy. However, we tried it and it is delicious. After we ground the walnuts, we poured them into a large bowl. We ground the oatmeal and flax until it was fine (about five minutes), added the baking soda, salt and cinnamon to the processor and pulsed to combine. Poured it all into the large bowl and mixed it together with bittersweet chocolate chips and Craisins. Meanwhile, we creamed the butter (I just couldn't use oil in a cookie recipe, I'm sure it's delicious- but these are cookies) with the brown sugar until light and fluffy. Added in one egg at a time and mixed on medium speed for about 30 seconds (used two eggs). Added the peanut butter (we didn't have enough almond butter on hand) and vanilla to the mixer, and mixed on medium for about a minute. Slowly added the dry ingredients to the mixer (1/3 at a time) until it was all incorporated. The cookie dough looked a little wet, but I left it alone and baked one batch to test (baked for 9 minutes) - Delicious! Thank you for a healthier chocolate chip cookie recipe, that my three-year olds and husband devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lholdren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Syracuse, Kansas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
The end result tasted nice but I wouldn't make them again as per the recipe. I had problems with them crumbling and falling apart prior to, and during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These are very good, filling cookies. I followed the directions to a T. I will make again and try to sub out the oil with applesauce. The reason I give it four stars is because they cannot even compare to my grandma's oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (which are totally unhealthy, but unbeatable in flavor). I know I shouldn't compare these two, but if it is called a cookie, it has to hold its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Franca Gioia
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Good recipe. I made a couple of substitutions based on what was in my cabinets; chopped apricots instead of cherries and pecans instead of walnuts. Turned out good. My only criticism is that the chocolate chips were too many. I could have easily used a third or half cup instead of a whole cup and there still would have been plenty. I would also recommend using mini chips instead of regular size chocolate chips because they were so big they kept falling out of the mixture instead of blending into it. I had to keep pushing them into the dough balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
YUM! I threw in a fourth cup of dates instead of the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Loved it and so did the family (children age 2 1/2, 8, 20)! I did take the advice of reviewers and made some substitutions. 2 eggs, applesauce, Peanut butter, no fruit, 1/2 C. of mini choc. chips They are small cookies so packaging 2-3 for a quick take to school/work. Definitely would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States