Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by flowerchick
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
OMG these are fantastic!!! Filled with yummy protein and other goodies, I usually every morning go to Starbucks and get something out of the case with my coffee not anymore these are a fantastic breakfast on the go sub!!! And my 14 year old loves them too!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
nice cookies, I'm eating them without feeling any guilt I used 1/4 cup full of apple sauce unstead of oil also used 2eggs and used 1/4 cup of honey unstead of agave first 375 was to high and burnt from down after only 10 min still tasty but a bit dry though next time I will try the receipe again with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is a very tasty recipe! I used coconut oil instead of canola, almond meal instead of flax, and left out the dried fruit. Also added an egg. Everyone in my house likes them! (Mom of 4 kids ages 5 and under).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelley_01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
1 cup of chocolate chips was a ridiculous amount, they can't even be incorporated into the batter, and they make the cookies way too sweet for breakfast. My kids like them, unsurprisingly, but I would reduce the chips to 1/2 cup next time. Also will try raisins as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I had to use pecans, since that's all I had on hand. After blending, I blended all of the dry ingredients in my food processor (except for the oats; added them last and pulsed it about 3x so they wouldn't break up too badly). Added 2 big scoops of protein powder to beef that up. Left out the cherries because we are choc chip people. Used melted coconut oil for better nutrition and flavor (and a little more of it since I added the protein powder). Lastly, peanut butter since we were out of almond butter. Super thick dough; hard to work with. Next time, I will add the dry ingredients to the wet and let the food processor do the work. A little crumbly but I just pressed it together when rolling into balls. Kids loved them! I did smash them down a tad and topped with an M&M. Kids feel like they are being rebels, eating these for breakfast. Will freeze and reheat in the microwave for busy school mornings. My recipe yielded 20 cookies. The added protein made for approx 6.5 g pro/cookie. I might add a 3rd scoop of protein next time. Thanks for the awesome, and easy to modify recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These were awesome, and I bet original recipe is perfect, but I had to make a few changes because I didn't have everything on hand. First, I used gluten free oats and flour, no flax, so I just subbed almond meal, peanut butter instead of almond butter, coconut oil instead of canola oil, processed an apple instead of cherries, and 2 eggs. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My family liked these. I subbed natural peanut butter for almond, decreased chocolate chips by 1/3 cup, and subbed applesauce for the oil. I had a problem rolling these into balls because they were too soft and sticky. Maybe next time I will first put them in the fridge for a bit. I used a tablespoon to scoop the dough and that worked okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Absolutely delicious and yes, perfect with my morning coffee!! Didn't have walnuts (will get some for next time) so used chopped pecans but did not grind them into a flour since I prefer more texture & a chunkier cookie. Substituted 1/2 cup applesauce (homemade) for the canola oil and also used 3/4 cup of a dried berry blend(cherries, blueberries & cranberries)and only used 3/4 cup chocolate chips. Also added 2 Tbsp chia seed to the dry mixture as suggested by another reviewer. Will definitely make again and again! Thanks IrisMac for such a yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Very good! I made MULTIPLE changes to this recipe and I won't bore you with them all, but just so you should know this recipe is highly adaptable. I WILL let you know that the flour can be left out, so if you have access to gluten free oats this recipe can be celiac friendly. To make up for the loss of starch I used 1 cup oatmeal and half a cup quick oats. Also 1 cup walnuts is about 100 grams ground nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Made this the other nite and could tell by how delicious the dough was that they'd be good. I did about 1 1/2 recipe; followed it pretty closely with a few small tweaks. I was low on choc. chips. I only had about 1/4 cup, so I chopped them med-fine and threw 'em in....this turned out to be the perfect amount of chocolate. I also had no almond butter, so used chunky peanut butter. Used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 canola. Also used 1/2 agave, 1/2 honey. Baked as directed, flattened, cooled, and WOW. TERRIFFIC cookies. Double batch next time!! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Gage Foster

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States