Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I think of these more as a not-terrible-for-you dessert. Too tasty for breakfast! One time I was out of agave and used honey instead, which made them sweeter than I prefer but may be a good option if making for pickier eaters and children who are used to sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
My granddaughters loved these, and I'm grateful they do because they are a good example of a healthy snack! I did make a couple of minor changes--coconut oil rather than the canola, a mix of dried cherries, blueberries, and strawberries, and fewer chocolate chips. These cooked perfectly in 8 minutes. Thanks for these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
These turned out delicious, not overly sweet, and with a "healthy" granola-like taste. I had a hard time holding back from eating them. My only minor complaint would be that the dough is barely sticky enough to hold together so it became a bit messy using my hands to force balls of dough together. I would give it a 4.5 if I could, but the end result is still a yummy cookie. There were two ingredients I didn't have so I had to substitute the agave with honey and the dried cherries with cherry-flavored dried cranberries. However, I don't think it compromised the flavor. Also, I ended up with 33 cookies instead of 18, so I guess my heaping teaspoons were not heaping enough, but I like the petite size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
We loved this recipe. I used two eggs based on reading other people's recommendations. Also used pecans instead of walnuts because that's our own personal preference. They turned out wonderfully - such a nice soft texture, very flavorful, and with a little bit of sweetness. The chocolate cherry combination is very nice. Ours were perfectly baked at eight minutes. I really like that they're not as processed as the granola bars you buy at the store. Will definitely make these again. I ended up with 40 cookies, not 18 like the recipe said. My husband was happy about that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I cannot tell you how happy I am with this recipe! I follow a very clean diet and it was so nice to find a recipe that didn't taste like cardboard. I followed it exactly, including the "smooshing" right when they came out of the oven. These are best eaten slightly warmed (when right out of the oven or nuked for 10 seconds). My kids LOVED these and so did I! The only thing I would say is that I did not have parchment paper and so I just sprayed my cookie sheet. They only took 7 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I had to change a couple things due to allergies and healthfulness, but the changes worked ok and it was delicious! My one complaint was the nuts turned to nut butter in my processor and never flour. I left it more "tiny bits" of nuts than proper "flour" so my cookies were a bit looser and easier to fall apart. If my kids love these a lot and ask for them on a regular basis, I may spring for a bag of nut flour at the store instead of trying to grind my own. Not a big deal, though, for an easy make-ahead breakfast that can even be frozen and kept on hand pretty much all the time. My changes: had to use pecans instead of walnuts (allergies); and used applesauce instead of oil (by choice), natural pb instead of almond butter (what I had on hand). Will try with almond or sunflower seed butter when I have the chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNMacKenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Delicious and nutritious! These are easy to make. I did not add the cherries, since I didn't have any on hand. Loved the taste and will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I'm about to be a first time mom and I wanted to have something quick I could grab for breakfast or a snack. These are perfect! I changed up a few things so that they are not just healthy but support lactation as well. First I ground up 1 cup of the oats and left 1/2 cup oats as flakes to reduce the texture a bit. I subbed 2/3 cup brown sugar and a squeeze of honey for the agave. I subbed a snack size unsweetened apple sauce for the oil and used 2 eggs. I used pecans instead of walnuts, grinding most but leaving some a bit more chunky. I used crasins instead of cherries and carob chips instead of chocolate chips, 3/4 cup of each. I added a 1/4 cup whey isolate to up the protein even more and 1/4 cup debittered brewers yeast to make them lactation friendly. The yeast gives them a bit of an aftertaste so once my milk comes in I think I would cut it out. Cooking for 9 min and letting them cool on the pan for 5 min and then the rest of the way on a rack leaves them nice and chewy. I popped these in the freezer and heat for 20sec in microwave when ready to eat. Perfect grab and go breakfast/snack with tons of fiber and protein! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I was skeptical when I saw that this recipe had flaxseed, whole wheat flour AND oatmeal. It sounded too healthy. However, we tried it and it is delicious. After we ground the walnuts, we poured them into a large bowl. We ground the oatmeal and flax until it was fine (about five minutes), added the baking soda, salt and cinnamon to the processor and pulsed to combine. Poured it all into the large bowl and mixed it together with bittersweet chocolate chips and Craisins. Meanwhile, we creamed the butter (I just couldn't use oil in a cookie recipe, I'm sure it's delicious- but these are cookies) with the brown sugar until light and fluffy. Added in one egg at a time and mixed on medium speed for about 30 seconds (used two eggs). Added the peanut butter (we didn't have enough almond butter on hand) and vanilla to the mixer, and mixed on medium for about a minute. Slowly added the dry ingredients to the mixer (1/3 at a time) until it was all incorporated. The cookie dough looked a little wet, but I left it alone and baked one batch to test (baked for 9 minutes) - Delicious! Thank you for a healthier chocolate chip cookie recipe, that my three-year olds and husband devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States