Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I had to use pecans, since that's all I had on hand. After blending, I blended all of the dry ingredients in my food processor (except for the oats; added them last and pulsed it about 3x so they wouldn't break up too badly). Added 2 big scoops of protein powder to beef that up. Left out the cherries because we are choc chip people. Used melted coconut oil for better nutrition and flavor (and a little more of it since I added the protein powder). Lastly, peanut butter since we were out of almond butter. Super thick dough; hard to work with. Next time, I will add the dry ingredients to the wet and let the food processor do the work. A little crumbly but I just pressed it together when rolling into balls. Kids loved them! I did smash them down a tad and topped with an M&M. Kids feel like they are being rebels, eating these for breakfast. Will freeze and reheat in the microwave for busy school mornings. My recipe yielded 20 cookies. The added protein made for approx 6.5 g pro/cookie. I might add a 3rd scoop of protein next time. Thanks for the awesome, and easy to modify recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These were awesome, and I bet original recipe is perfect, but I had to make a few changes because I didn't have everything on hand. First, I used gluten free oats and flour, no flax, so I just subbed almond meal, peanut butter instead of almond butter, coconut oil instead of canola oil, processed an apple instead of cherries, and 2 eggs. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My family liked these. I subbed natural peanut butter for almond, decreased chocolate chips by 1/3 cup, and subbed applesauce for the oil. I had a problem rolling these into balls because they were too soft and sticky. Maybe next time I will first put them in the fridge for a bit. I used a tablespoon to scoop the dough and that worked okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Absolutely delicious and yes, perfect with my morning coffee!! Didn't have walnuts (will get some for next time) so used chopped pecans but did not grind them into a flour since I prefer more texture & a chunkier cookie. Substituted 1/2 cup applesauce (homemade) for the canola oil and also used 3/4 cup of a dried berry blend(cherries, blueberries & cranberries)and only used 3/4 cup chocolate chips. Also added 2 Tbsp chia seed to the dry mixture as suggested by another reviewer. Will definitely make again and again! Thanks IrisMac for such a yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Very good! I made MULTIPLE changes to this recipe and I won't bore you with them all, but just so you should know this recipe is highly adaptable. I WILL let you know that the flour can be left out, so if you have access to gluten free oats this recipe can be celiac friendly. To make up for the loss of starch I used 1 cup oatmeal and half a cup quick oats. Also 1 cup walnuts is about 100 grams ground nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Made this the other nite and could tell by how delicious the dough was that they'd be good. I did about 1 1/2 recipe; followed it pretty closely with a few small tweaks. I was low on choc. chips. I only had about 1/4 cup, so I chopped them med-fine and threw 'em in....this turned out to be the perfect amount of chocolate. I also had no almond butter, so used chunky peanut butter. Used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 canola. Also used 1/2 agave, 1/2 honey. Baked as directed, flattened, cooled, and WOW. TERRIFFIC cookies. Double batch next time!! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Ok, my second go with alterations. I doubled the recipe, used a gluten free flour mixture instead of whole wheat, cut the flax to 1/2 cup and replaced with 1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut. I added a tablespoon of chia seeds. Replaced the canola oil with 1/3 cup avocado oil and 1/3 cup applesauce. Substituted honey for agave, and omitted the brown sugar. Added 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of craisins. The rolling and squishing was too much work so I just dropped them onto parchment paper by the teaspoon. Amazing! I know I changed a lot but they really turned out well and I wanted to share. Not too sweet, not too heavy. Thanks for the great foundation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I just added 1 grated carrot, 2 grated apples and 1/2 cup chopped cranberries instead of the cherries. Also I saw in fridge I had 1/4 fresh strawberries so I threw them in too! Makes a very healthy cookie this way!Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Quite Easy & VERY Delicious! I made these cookies per the recipe with one change, I used almonds instead of walnuts. (Mainly due to my allergy to walnuts.) It turned out WOW! Both my husband and daughter liked them. I made these a second time and used coconut flour instead of whole wheat and YUMMO! a hit! I also like how easy these were to make, in my processor and not my mixer! thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great recipe. On a great path to being healthy. Take out the rape seed canola oil and use grape seed oil or sunflower oil though. Can use sugar in the raw instead of brown sugar. Brown sugar is no better than white, still processed and spikes your insulin. Take out whole wheat flour and use almond flour for grain free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States