Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this exactly as written. The cookies taste really good, but they're too crumbly. I had a lot of trouble getting them to stick together to put on the cookie sheet. I wish I had read the reviews first; I would have added another egg. Also, 1 cup of chocolate chips is way too much. They didn't want to mix in to the dough. After I had put all my cookies on the sheet to bake, I still had at least half a cup of chocolate chips in the bottom of the bowl. Next time I make these I will use two eggs and half a cup of chocolate chips. Mini chocolate chips might incorporate better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jgsiska
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I too made some substitutions. I used peanut butter and added golden raisins and currants, I also subbed whole wheat for reg. flour because I enjoy the crispy texture it lends.This is my favorite healthy cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgsiska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I've tried a lot of "healthy" cookie and muffin recipes, but none of them come close to these beauties. Yes I did a few subs - good food is not cheap (natural peanutbutter: almond butter, honey: agave, raisins: cherries) and I added a second egg (thanks other reviewers!). Gorgeous, chewy, sweet, hearty for breakfast. They aren't the most elegant looking cookies, so Martha Stewart won't get any when she visits. Her loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Yummy and healthier than your normal oatmeal cookie! I used peanut butter instead of almond butter, omitted the cinnamon and the cherries. I also baked for 12 minutes, switching racks due to uneven heating in my oven. Chewy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very tasty. I substituted Domata gluten-free flour for the whole wheat flour and added 1/2 cup coconut for texture. Next time, I would use peanut butter as a more reasonably priced option to the almond butter. Also used two eggs and subbed coconut oil on the recommendations of other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I'll use half cup chocolate chips next time, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Fantastic ,healthy option as a treat for the family. My teenagers and husband loved them. I had to substitute peanut butter for the almond butter because they have a tree nut allergy. Also, added an egg so they wouldn't be crumbly. They came out perfect and I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Amazing. Subbed cranberries for cherries and CANNOT STOP EATING THESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Some subs. One-pan bars.I never have all the ingredients for recipes so I subbed: syrup for agave, reg flour for whole wheat, and coconut oil for canola, and no cherries. I've made it this way a lot! My picky 6yo loves them so that makes this recipe a WINNER. He even helped make a batch once. Now, to save time I line a cookie sheet with foil and dump the entire batch on it and press it down with my fingers until it's spread flat. When it's done I 'drop' the pan on the counter several times to simulate pressing the cookies down. When it's cooled off I flip the pan onto a cutting board, peel off the foil and cut into 'cookie bars' with a rocking pizza cutter and bag up for the week. Dress my family of 3 breakfast Mon-Friday. Like I said this is a WINNER of a recipe and almost have it memorized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I too made these with a few subs--Honey instead of agave because agave is NOT healthy; safflower oil instead of canola because canola is NOT healthy; and I also added some pureed carrots (about 1/4 cup) to punch up the veggie value, and the cookies were moist, chewy, and delish! I'm a cloves fan so I added 1/4 tsp of that too. I'm planning to tweak the recipe a bit for seasonal variety, adding cranberies and pumpkin, etc. Great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States